What The Future Holds


What The Future Holds - The Rookie Dad

Image Courtesy of Tiny Buddha

I sit here writing this wondering, what does the future hold.  No, not about my family, or if the Kansas City Royals will win the World Series or not.  I wonder what the future holds for The Rookie Dad.

In the 4 years that I have been writing The Rookie Dad, it has transitioned from the The Father In Me to what it is today, The Rookie Dad.  Readers have seen me featured on Freshly Pressed as I wrote about the day my son was born. They have seen me go through being laid off, being a stay at home dad, to going back to work.

I went through a dry spell of writing for The Rookie Dad, to only have the inspiration come back after being featured on the Today Show.  That inspiration has brought new ideas and renewed sense of motivation to keep The Rookie Dad up and running.

As I sit and wonder what the future will bring for The Rookie Dad, I have started to think about a few goals that I have for The Rookie Dad. In no particular order here they are.

  1. Focus on engaging the reader
  2. Post at least once a week
  3. Upgrade the overall look of the site

The third goal, is one that will be met by the end of the year. As The Rookie Dad transitions to being a self-hosted site this will allow me to build a better reader experience.  Being self-hosted will allow me to pick out an upgraded theme for you the reader.  These two changed will happen by the end of 2014 and I’m hoping will kick-start a few new features on The Rookie Dad that I have been mulling over.

If you ask Mrs. Rookie Dad, she will tell you that I am slow to pull the trigger on a lot of things.  Take this past weekend for example where it took me a 3 hours to decide if we should get a new set of pot and pans or just replace our pans.  So, as you can tell, I hate to make a commitment but you will see me writing more for The Rookie Dad.   I’m shooting for a post a week.  I know that there will be weeks that I do not meet that goal but it something that I have been wanting to do for a while.  This will allow me some time to start writing for some of the other sites that I am a contributor to, Traveling Dad and Dads Round Table.

Those last two goals, will help me reach my overall goal of keeping the you the reader engaged and keeping the conversation going.

I’ve recently taken a more serious approach to blogging, and I think making these changes will help me personally feel like a true blogger after realizing that I really am a blogger and I shouldn’t be ashamed of that.  These past four years have been a blast and I’m hoping that these changes can be a springboard into something even better for The Rookie Dad.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on October 20, 2014, in Tech and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I’m looking forward to more, no matter the appearance or frequency!

  2. Looking forward to more too!

  3. Margy Rydzynski

    Nice goal set. You know you can get some really gorgeous themes on wordpress.com? Is there any specific reason you’re switching over? I always wonder about that!

  4. Good luck making those changes. I hope they work out and you can implement just as wyou wish.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

