Kids Today Don’t Stand A Chance


No Kids were harmed in the writing of this post.    

Let’s forget that what I did was illegal.  I could have been pulled over and given a ticket, however, I have figured out how to get out of a ticket.  But, it was too damn cute to not get video of.

The Kid was in the backseat dancing.  Dancing to the new radio station that the company I work for acquired.  Something that all my colleagues would love to see.  I had to turn around and get video as I drove.

The next day, I walk into work head upstairs and say hello to everyone hanging around the coffee maker.  They ask me how my evening was and I whip out my phone and show them the video.

After the initial laughter of just how cute the Kid is, someone mentions that this is a video we will want to save and bring up at his graduation or to one of his prom dates to show off how he will be dancing later that night.

This is where I would like to apologize in advance to the Kid because of all the videos and pictures that are taken of him because in the end, parents today have the ability to be able to embarrass our kids more so than ever.

Kids today don’t stand a chance.

Kids Don't Stand A Chance - THe Rookie Dad

The Kid sticking his fingers in his nose.

Growing up, it was always a hassle to pull out the big VHS camera to video tape me.  Some of the earliest videos of me are of me on the hood of an orange station wagon washing it, talking to “customers” about how to wash their car properly.  There is also video of me singing “Born In the USA” in my underwear on top of a laundry basket.  That video would have probably ended up viral on YouTube.

Now, all it takes is reaching for my cell phone swiping my finger to send it to video mode and I’m instantly grabbing video of the latest funny thing that the Kid is doing.  I can hit upload and the entire world can then see the Kid sticking out his tongue as he is dancing in the back seat of the car.

Parents today, will have an endless supply of videos to embarrass their kids.  Not to mention, with YouTube if your child does something extremely hilarious, it could be seen by the Millions.  I mean look at Rebecca Black and her famous “Friday” video.

Again, I apologize to the Kid in advance for the embarrassing things that I will catch on video.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on October 2, 2014, in Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

