I’m A Blogger, Damn It!


I’m a blogger, damn it!

I do not say that with a face palm. I say this with a sense of revelation and pride.  It took me close to 4 years to realize this.   I sit here over 450 posts into The Rookie Dad and feeling like I am coming into my own as a blogger and a writer.

Blogger

Image Courtesy of Compulearn Dublin

When I started The Rookie Dad, I was afraid to speak of it in public.  Like the online persona would shield me from the ridicule and stigma that came with being known as a blogger, which at the time was still something many people didn’t quite understand.  However, there was one night that my slight embarrassment of being a blogger changed.

I was outside and I had just come home from an evening run.  The Kid was playing with our neighbor’s kids. As I walked up the drive-way, the husband told me that he really liked my long-sleeved shirt that I was wearing under my running shirt.

I said thanks and that I was reviewing it for my blog.  The conversation turned to The Rookie Dad.  I was asked what I blogged about and how I started the venture.  A conversation that I’m still slightly uncomfortable with.

Uncomfortable because I don’t blog for the notoriety.  I blog because it is an outlet for me and is a great way for me to decompress during stressful situations.

A few days later, someone at work said that they read one of my posts and really liked it. I believe it was one that was posted on Good Men Project.  The conversation turned to The Rookie Dad and the same questions were asked.  The conversation was not uncomfortable this time.  Strangely, it felt comfortable.   I felt a since of pride as I started to talk about it.

I don’t know why I would hide the fact that I am a blogger, a dad blogger at that.  Maybe it was my bad grammar in the beginning.  Maybe I wasn’t that confident in who I was as writer.  Whatever the reason, I should not have hidden it.

I should embrace my blog.  While not as big as some of the other dad blogger sites, the community that has come because of The Rookie Dad, has helped me become a better father, husband, son, and friend.  For that I am forever indebted to my readers.

Damn it, I AM a blogger.

Damn it, I AM The Rookie Dad.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on September 22, 2014, in Tech and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Gotta love being a blogger.

  2. postpostmoderndad

    There is still a little bit of a stigma I think with being “a blogger” as if that’s a type of freeloader or internet troll, almost as if that’s your whole identity, this online presence. Like being a stay at home dad there are adjustments the public need to make before some “normalization” sets in. The more people do it and the longer we do it the less awkward it will become.

    • To me, people still don’t quite understand what a blog is. Maybe the word blog is too broad? And when most people hear the term, blog, they think of someone who is kind of a rogue internet journalist who is just out to look for fame. I think that might be where the stereotype really comes from. Much like the Stay-at-home dad stereotype, I think people make more out of it then it really needs to be.

  3. I would agree. I tell people that I have a blog and most people don’t even know what that is or what the word means. I try to explain to them what it is and most of them have websites that they often visit that are blogs, but they just never knew it. Other people think I am trying to selling them something and run away. One thing I have noticed since I started blogging is that the blogging community is actually very large, but it is still a tight community in perspective to the general population. Hopefully as time goes, more people will understand what blogging is and will become supporters or bloggers themselves. Great Post!

  4. Way to step out of the shadows and from behind that laptop screen. As a new blogger myself, I relate to your post. Writing something with faith it will find an audience is an strange act of courage . Just wanted to say I found it, and appreciated it as well.

  1. Pingback: Bloggerhood Etc. 9/29/14 | Fatherhood Etc.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

