Teaching the Kid Life Lessons


Let me be the first to say this, I SUCK at doing chores.  I have the hardest time getting the motivation to do them after a hard day’s work.  It is my thought that I should be able to come home and just be able to relax.

I realize though, that there are things that need to get done around the house.  I know that the floor needs to be swept and vacuumed.  My feet appreciate picking up the Lego pieces that are left on the living room floor, if they don’t end up in the vacuum.  The dishes need to be done and the lawn needs to be mowed.

Doing these chores are a pain, I am not going to lie.  The moment I walk in the door I hear my empty easy chair calling my name.  My feet are hurting from walking to and from different sides of the building at work. The Netflix queue needs to be watched.  However, the Kid needs to learn that not everything will come easy.  There are times when we have to do things that we don’t particularly enjoy.

Teaching the Kid Life Lessons - The Rookie Dad

It is just part of life. He needs to understand that he will be asked to do things around the house.

I’m starting to sound like my mother as I beg the Kid to do his part around the house.   It is something that I’m fighting with as I come closer to the age of 30.  Is this a good or bad thing that I can hear her voice coming out of me as I talk to the Kid?

That voice has recently started having the Kid do his part.  We are starting small with helping clear the table after we are done with our evening meal.  Surprisingly, we have come to find out that the Kid has started to enjoy doing this.  There is an eagerness in his eyes as he runs to the kitchen to get a rag to wipe of the table.

Eventually, we will start having the Kid do more around the house.  Mostly just cleaning up his toys.  He is still at the point in his life where picking up a toy is like burying and saying its eulogy.   It won’t be long until he knows that when he picks up his toys to put back into his room isn’t the death of that toy and when he realizes that, it will be easier to have him pick up around the house.

It is important to convey to the Kid that there will be work involved in his life.   It is not all fun and games.   There are things that need to be done before we can go outside and play with our friends.  To a 4-year-old this is a tough concept to teach them.  Teaching him early and starting small has seemed to help.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on September 11, 2014, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

