The Smartphone, My Camera of Choice


When I grew up, if you wanted to take pictures you either ran to the store to grab a disposable camera or you pulled out a camera with a bunch of settings that you don’t know what they mean.  Today, you can still break out in a DSLR camera or you can just reach into your pocket and quickly take a picture with your smartphone.

I’m lucky enough to have both a DSLR and a smartphone. I’ve had both since the Kid was born. When the Kid was mostly immobile and I more time on my hands to edit pictures, I almost always reached for my DSLR.  The pictures always turned out so crisp and clean compared to my early iPhone.

The Smartphone, My Camera of Choice - The Rookie Dad

A picture taken of the Kid at 6 months old with my DSLR.

Now, the Kid is going on 4-years-old and can sprint around the house faster than it would take me to get my settings right on my Canon Rebel.  Now the moment I see a moment that I want to remember, I reach for my phone, usually in movie mode and I’m able to take pictures while I am getting video of the Kid.

The Smartphone, My Camera of Choice - The Rookie Dad

A picture of the Kid at 3 years old taken with my Google Nexus 5 smartphone.

It is easy to see why the average user is starting to take more and more pictures with their smartphones.  According to Treat.com global shipments of DSLR cameras have plummeted nearly 48%.  With less digital cameras being shipped more people are taking pictures.  Each person on earth take roughly 53 pictures a year.  That might not sound like a whole lot, but when you consider the world population in comparison to the amount of people who are unable to take pictures that number seems massive.

Not only that, but pictures have now become social.  Meaning the moment we take a picture, we immediately upload it to Instagram or Facebook.   Those sites are reaping the benefits of our increasingly social picture need as well.  70% of all Facebook’s activity are from photos and Instagram saw their user base from 2012 to 2013 climb from 27 million users to 140 users.

As a parent, I feel like I will whip the dust off my DSLR the moment the Kid starts playing sports and I will need my telephoto lens for that up close picture of him scoring the game winning goal in a soccer match.  Until then, it is so much easier to pull my smartphone out snap that cute picture and share with all of you.

This trend has been an interesting one to watch.  Like I said, I remember growing up taking pictures on film and now only 1% of pictures are taken on film.  I remember if you wanted to take pictures, grab a disposable camera and wait a week for your pictures to get developed.  Now, you see the results on a 5 inch screen and can share with your friends in a matter of seconds.

This information comes from Treat.com and a new infographic they have published on their blog titled DSLR vs Smartphone: Which Camera is Best for Photos.

The Smartphone, My Camera of Choice - The Rookie Dad

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on September 2, 2014, in Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve actually found that recently I have swung the other way.

    It’s very annoying that I can’t quickly and easily share photo’s from my Canon Rebel, but I much prefer the images I get with it so I rarely use my smartphone camera any more!

    • I’ve figured out a two prong approach. When I am shooting pictures for my site or the other sites that I write for, I am going to use my Canon Rebel. But when I am looking to share via social media my phone will be the tool I use. I know that there will be overlap for both but this will help keep me using both.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

