Being A Dad Is The Hardest Job I’ve Ever Had


I am not shy in saying that I have had 3 jobs by the time that I turn 30.  Each of those jobs have increased in difficulty in different ways.  All 3 jobs have had their sets of challenges and rewards.  One job though, is the hardest job that I will ever have AND the most rewarding.

Being A Dad - The Rookie Dad

Teaching the son how to fish.

Being A Dad.

Dad… There is something powerful about the word… Dad.  Just say it another time and really think about it… Dad.

That word struck fear inside of me before I was married.  It wasn’t that I didn’t want to be a dad, it was the fear of raising another human being.  Knowing that I would be responsible for the care and well-being of a child made my bone shiver.

I always knew that I wanted to be a dad but I was never prepared for it.  I was not prepared for the diaper changes, the many sleepless nights, and the bruised feet from stepping on LEGOs.  Before I became a dad, I had never even changed a diaper.  I don’t think that I had even held a baby.  I was too afraid that I would break the baby or that I would make it cry and not know what to do.

There is no book on being a being a dad.  Yes, there are thousands of books written by parents or by parenting experts explaining parenting to parents.  None of those books though, tell you how to raise your child.  Every child is different and every parent is different in how they parent those children.  These books are just mere suggestions on how to raise your child but only you know how to raise your kid.

Being a dad is as trying on your body, mind, and soul as crab fishing in Alaska.  When your child throws a tantrum and did not sleep the night before, you can be at your worst.  When you have had a long day at work and you need just 5 minutes of down time that your child will not give you, you can be at worst.

Being A Dad - The Rookie Dad

Teaching the Kid how to swim.

I realize that it sounds like I am making it sound like being a dad is the worst thing that a man could wish for.  It is far from it.

While I may not have been prepared to be a dad, the most exciting thing about it all is figuring this out on my own.  I may have never changed a diaper in my life but I was soon the best diaper changer in the world.   I may have been a person who was unable to operate on very little sleep, now I only need a few hours of sleep and I am good for the day and an entire pot of coffee.  My feet have become so callused that I no longer feel the many LEGOs under my feet.

Being a dad has challenged my mind, body, and soul to the point where I never thought they could go.  That moment that I feel I can longer take it, something clicks and I become once again the best dad in the world, in the eyes of my son and wife.  I reach the top of the top of the Philadelphia Museum of Art just like Rocky and celebrate like no one else has.

Would I take being a dad back?  Not at all.  Being a dad is the most rewarding experience that a man could have. The tea parties in your daughter’s room, playing catch with your son in the backyard, fishing with your son, or playing dress up with your daughter.  There is nothing else out there that could replace those memories.  There is nothing else that could fill a dad’s heart more than watching a child grow up.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on August 4, 2014, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

