Does Turning 30 Make Me An Adult?


3 Months from today will be quite possibly the biggest life event since turning 21.  Unless you count the drop in insurance rates when you get married.  Speaking of getting married that is a pretty big life event too right?  OK maybe it is but then again I’m still in my 20’s.  Yeah, you heard right, I’m in the 20’s. However, in 3 months I will no longer be able to call myself a 20 something.  I will be 30!

Now, I having never lived through my 30’s, 40’s, 50’s, and if Mrs. Rookie Dad hasn’t killed by then my 60’s.  But, this to me is my last transition into adulthood.   For me, it has been a 12 year transition of awkwardness, silliness, triumphs, defeats, good times, bad times, and downright awesomeness.

I don’t remember much about turning 18.  I’m sure that it was spent chatting on the Internet with some girls, yeah I was total player with girls I hardly saw.  But that was the year I went off to college and at what I thought at the time was really understanding what life was really about.  I got my first real girlfriend and discovered what I really wanted to do with my life.

Then I turned 21.  This birthday was sort of bitter-sweet for me.  It was spent with friends having my first drink of beer.  Yes I did wait till I was 21.  I remember where I was, my favorite pizza place with a tower of beer.  My friends wanted to continue the party but being young and stupid, I decided to spend the evening with my girlfriend, who I mind you dumped me shortly after that.  Looking back, I wish that I had gone out with them.

Shortly after taking my first big person job with salary and benefits, I met Mrs. Rookie Dad.  This is one of two events in my life that I have never looked back at.  The moment I met her, I knew that she was the person I was going to spend the rest of my life with.  No time was wasted in proposing to her.  I’ve been known to make some pretty stupid decisions in my life and this was not one of them.  Marrying Mrs. Rookie Dad was and still is the best decision that I have ever made.

 

Turning 30 - The Rookie Dad

The night of November 8th, 2010 when my son was born. One of the best days of my life.

2 years after Mrs. Rookie Dad and I were married, our little bundle of joy came into our lives.  This was the second event in my life where I have never looked back, except for the sleepless night, getting puked on, peed on, and getting sick.  OK maybe I do look back at this event, but it isn’t one that I would take back.  Next to marrying Mrs. Rookie Dad this has been the one thing that has brought me many moments of joy.

This brings me to where I am today.  I never thought that all of this would happen in the span of a 12 years.  It seems like so much has happened in such a sort amount of time.   Maybe that is what our 20’s are for.  Discovering who we are so that we can be better future people.

Turning 30 - The Rookie Dad

Sharing a baseball game together in 2013 with the Kid.

In 3 months, I will be what I determine, a full fledged adult.  Some may say differently but to each his own.  The journey to an adult has not been an easy one.   It looks like I have a bunch of growing up in the months ahead.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on July 31, 2014, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. postpostmoderndad

    I know from first-hand experience you’ll make it through your 30s (can’t quite vouch for the 40s yet) – turning 30 doesn’t really make you an adult, having that kid does because suddenly you need to live outside yoruself.

  2. Jeeze if you become an adult at 30 I missed the memo lol 🙂 Maybe I don’t feel like I’m 30 because most of my co – workers are 20 and a few can’t even buy alcohol yet. People are shocked when I say I am 31. I don’t know if that is a good thing or a bad thing.

    Granted keep playing with those Legos it’ll keep the brain young 😉

  3. 30 might be just a number, but this life stage certainly says “adult.” I believe that it’s through remembering my youth that I connect with my kids though, so even if it’s just vicariously through them, I can stay a kid for a while more.

  4. I’m entering the last year of my 30s and when looking back over the past two decades I can confidently say my 30s were better than my 20s.
    For me the late teen years are for trying to figure out who you are. Your 20s are for understanding who you are becoming and your 30s are for sharing with confidence who you’ve become.
    It’s a fun trip and it only gets better when you have a family to share it with.

  5. I do accept as true with all of the ideas you’ve introduced in your post.
    They are very convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts
    are too short for starters. May you please lengthen them a
    little from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

  1. Pingback: Being A Dad Is The Hardest Job I’ve Ever Had | The Rookie Dad

  2. Pingback: The Hell I Put My Mom Through | The Rookie Dad

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

