It’s The Question That Makes Me Cringe With Fear


I never thought that I would be this type of parent.  In fact, I remember telling myself that I wouldn’t say what I have said lately as much as I have been.  I’ve turned into the “because” parent.  I have taken it one step further in fact, I have taken it to the “because it is just that way.”

I realize that kids have inquisitive minds, but when the Kid keeps asking me why it is raining, it takes everything out of me to not turn into a smart ass and go into a big scientific explanation of why it is raining, only to get in return another question why.  So naturally, I resort to the “because it is” answer.  Even then though as if the Kid is my Arch-nemesis he returns with the question, “Why?”

I cringe every time I say the word, because.  In fact as I type it my fingers are trembling and I’m getting that red squiggly line telling me I have misspelled the word.  That is how much I hate using that word as an explanation for something that my son wants an answer too.

The Kid really doesn’t stand a chance when it comes to wanting to understand things.  For one, I am the dad who as a kid was grounded from watching Bill Nye The Science Guy.  In a stroke of brilliance I decided to run one of his experiments in our kitchen that resulted in the complete loss of my hair due to a malfunctioning plastic beaker sitting on top of a candle.   I couldn’t settle for just taking the answer to a question that Bill Nye posed to all of us 5th graders.  I had to do it myself to understand.

Knowing where he gets this inquisitive mindset makes me hurt inside when I answer a question of his with a simple, because.  I wanted to know all the answers and now as if he came from the same gene pool he wants to know everything.  Don’t get me wrong I’m glad that he has that gene from me.  It’s probably the best gene that I have next to my charming good looks but beyond those two genes I sure hope that he didn’t inherit my eye site that has me nearly blind without contacts or glasses or my teeth that are practically all metal at this point.

I’m trying to be better about using the word because around him.  I know that it is only going to get better because he will remember the answer I just gave him yesterday about why the sun is going to sleep at night.  It is also only a matter of time before he learns about the lies that I have told him like why the sun goes to sleep at night, because the sun had a busy day just like you and needs to go to bed just like you.  It was worth a shot to get him to go to sleep with that but it didn’t work.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on April 28, 2014, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I say go ahead and give him a simplified scientific answer. He won’t always come to you with his questions. Treasure it now. We keep a list of stuff to sit down to Google or Youtube together later when my pack is asking more questions than I can answer at the time. Usually I know the answer, but when I don’t it’s great to get to be honest with them and to find out together. You could make a poster board with questions he wonders about, and have him cross them off when he knows the answer.
    The most important thing to remember is that he is only young for a short time. In the blink of an eye he won’t ask you those questions anymore. Relish in learning and explaining to him now.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

