I Am The Rookie Dad and a Proud Sponsor of Moms


Two years ago, I was pretty upset with Procter and Gamble for leaving dads out of the equation during their Olympic ads.  Two years ago, I wrote and entire piece about this subject.  I went off on Procter and Gamble, but today, I issue my retraction.

Proud Sponsor of Moms - The Rookie Dad

As the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics are in full force, so is the Procter and Gamble Proud Sponsor of Moms ad.  There is not a commercial break that one version doesn’t air.  The only ad campaign that runs more is the Visa, Proud Sponsor of Team USA ads.

I’ve decided, I’m not fighting it anymore.  I’m joining in the campaign.  I get what they are going for.  Except for the fact that I wonder how moms feel that they are being exploited by Procter and Gamble during the Olympics so they can push a few more products.  That’s beside the point though.

Here is the deal, dads generally are the parents that are involved heavily in sports with their children.  Not only do they coach them but they practice with them in the back yard.  This isn’t exclusive to the boys in the family; daughters are also spending time with their daughters sharing their love of sports.

Speaking only in generalities because I know there are exceptions to my hypothetical situation here: Who do you remember being at your little league baseball game or pee wee football game?  Who would take you into the backyard to help you improve on the game?  Your dad, right?  Who would you sit down with and watch college basketball with?  Who would you go out with in the driving rain to shoot a few hoops to help you earn that Division I basketball scholarship?  Your dad, right?

Naturally, much like dad feel the sense to get all up in arms that dads are given a bad rap in the media, moms are being left out.  What are the Olympics about? Sports and the world together! Who do you think of when you associate parents and sports?  Who is the missing demographic, unless figure skating is on?  Moms!

I send major praise to Procter and Gamble for this ad campaign.  Moms have an extremely hard job they need a pat on the back occasionally.  If that means every two years for two weeks I have to see these ads every commercial break, that’s fine by me.  They deserve this praise.

I sit here writing this and wonder how my wife is able to go to law school and be a mother.  I am amazed at how she is able to juggle all of this.  She’s been so locked into studies but she is still able to take time to spend with the Kid.  She is always willing to give me a break because she knows exactly how hard I’ve been working and when I come home, most nights the parenting duties fall to me.   She recognizes this and does everything she can to make things easier for me.  I feel guilty for the amount of time she is taking away from studying so she can be a mother.  It makes for long nights and early mornings for her.

Let me be one of the first dads, to stand up for moms.  You deserve this!  You need someone to recognize the efforts that you are putting into being a parent, even if that is a company that is just looking to get your business.  Again, beside the point.  Point being, to have a huge brand to say they are a Proud Sponsor of Moms has to make moms around the world feel great.

I’m The Rookie Dad and a Proud Sponsor of Moms!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on February 13, 2014, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Is it fair to say I like your thumbs-up more than P&G’s? It really does feel exploitative (not laudatory) from P&G. Some things are better recognized outside of commercial and within heart to heart!

  2. Well, thank you Rookie Dad! I’m a working mom of 3 (twin babies and a grade-school kiddo) so I have to agree that moms have a hard job. Hopefully they have a good man by their side to ease the load. You have a point, though: I never realized the irony that P&G is showing support of moms during sporting events. Most youth sports completely rely on the volunteer efforts of dads, but I guess they have to get their marketing in where it’s most profitable 🙂

    • It fits with the demographic of people who buy the cleaning products in the home too. So why not cater to them and say that you Proudly Support the efforts that they are putting forth in the home?

  3. As a proud hockey mom, I beg to differ. And I think that it’s just a little bit sexist to think that the kids and sports thing is the man’s job. Plenty of moms I know coach, manage, volunteer, drive, pay for and play sports and are every bit as knowledgeable and capable in that department. So maybe in your house it was (or is) Dad’s job, but for a lot of us, Mom is heavily involved. I love those P&G ads, don’t feel exploited and can tell you that I’ve lived a bunch of those moments. (Except for the moments where the kid gets the Olympic medal– maybe someday, but probably not.)

    • I am applauding Procter and Gamble for bringing to light the demographic that is generally forgotten about when it comes to sports.

      I’m not being sexist. I’m glad they are talking about moms being involved in sports.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

