You Can’t Have What You Really Want


37C

I’ve been lucky for the most part of my life as a husband and father.  I look at my incredible loving wife and my awesome son and I see how lucky I have been that I have been able to spend pretty much every day with them.

This past week though, I took my first out of town business trip.  This trip took me from the cold 3 degrees of the Midwest to the nice 70 degrees of Phoenix on a 3 day trip.  This is the first time that my wife and I have been separated since being married. This is also the first time that my son will not see me for a couple of days.

While parents would revel in the fact that they would get a full night sleep and be able to visit the porcelain thrown without interruption, but this trip told me something.  This trip told me these are all things that, while I hate when they are happening, I miss when they aren’t there.

I was able to get three full nights of sleep on this trip.  Those three nights though I missed waking up to my wife.  I also missed waking up next to my son, who after 3 attempts throughout the night to sneak out of his bed was finally successful and made it to the end zone of his parents bed.

As parents we are constantly complaining about the things that our kids do, constantly robbing us of sleep, leaving their toys as landmines around the house for our feet, or not giving us the chance to re-watch an old violent Harrison Ford movie from the 90’s. The moment that we are able to do the things we so desperately want to do when our children are around though, we want our children around. We miss them, A LOT!

I can’t explain it, but as I hung out with my colleagues on this business trip, I wanted to spend more time with my son.  It was almost as though I wanted to be with the people that I knew I couldn’t be with.  I wanted to be with the people that I have put my heart and soul to over the last 5 years.

On this trip, it made me to realize that I am doing this to support my family.  Without their love and support I would not be where I am today in my career.  Without their love and support, I would not have this career to support them.

Another thing, I don’t know why I didn’t enjoy the pool at the hotel while it was 70 degrees and the rest of the country was in the polar vortex!

photo

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on January 14, 2014, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is exactly how I feel whenever I leave my son, even for just a few hours. Time passes so quickly and I know that in a few years my son will be a surly teenager who doesn’t want to talk to me, so I really cherish every minute with him. And reuniting is the best! Hope that you got the best hugs when you got back—I’m sure you did!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

