2013: The Year That Changed Me


2013 - The Rookie Dad

As I look back on the year that was 2013, I realize that I went through probably the strangest time in my life.  I came out of it stronger and with a new approach on life; one that I hope will translate into more harmony in my life in 2014.

I had a job that enjoyed.  One where that I look back at now and realize was not a good fit.  It gave me too much freedom.  So much freedom that i could spend all day on social media and working on other side projects, that I lost focus to what I was sitting in my office to do.  It was a bad habit to start and ultimately was the reason I was laid-off.

I felt like a failure.  Not only to myself and to my family.

When I was laid-off, I was forced to become a stay-at-home-dad.  It really seemed like no big deal since I had practically done it before.  It quickly hit home that I was no longer meant to be a stay-at-home-parent, even though me saying over and over that this is what I wanted.  While I enjoyed my time with my son, it was time that I was using to reflect on the type of job that I really wanted.  During my time of reflection the almost improbable happened…

I found a job!

One that I truly enjoy.  One that makes me happy.  One that gives me a sense of accomplishment every single day.  One that, well you get the idea.  I don’t know if it was the time to reflect on the type of employee that I wanted to be or finding a job that just fits my personality and skills, but there is nothing greater than to be able to provide for your family and truly enjoy what you are doing at the same time.

As I started my new job there were new stresses and a lot more responsibility. Which lead me to push aside the biggest support network that I had (next to my wife and family), Dads Round Table.  I suddenly stopped writing, contributing, and even attending our Twitter chats on Wednesday night.  I also started to neglect my blog.  It happened so suddenly that my attitude towards social media changed, drastically, almost to the point where I was about to give it up.  I didn’t want to let all of this go though.  There was a void in my life as much as I was unwilling to admit it.  That void was doing the things that I had always done, like blogging, writing, and social media.

I was finally able to look back and reflect on everything that happened in 2013 and realize that I was probably not the best person, not the person I want to be.  I don’t want a couple months of career life transition lead to abandoning things that have been an essential part of my life as a husband and father.   As 2014 approaches, I want to step in with a better and positive attitude and harmony in my life. There are so many things that I want to do and learn between doing more DIY projects and reading one book a month that harmony will the key word for 2014.  I want to step-into the New Year and forget 2013.  2014 is a fresh start both in my career, family, and personal life.

Here is to a harmonious 2014.
Auto-correct did change harmonious to humorous… I wouldn’t be opposed to a humorous 2014 either. 

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on December 30, 2013, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good luck my man! Love the word “harmony” as the word for 2014. You’ve survived 2013 and big things are ahead in 2014. Just so you know, even if you walk away from social media and your online community from time to time, we will still be here when you decide to come back. Of course you’ll come back…you can’t resist. haha. Happy new year and glad you are doing well!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

