The Shocking Reality of the Nokia Lumia 1020 Commercial


I am sure you have probably seen the Nokia Lumia Windows phone commercial.  At first glance it seems to be a rather funny commercial and works to sell the Nokia Lumina 1020 phone.  If you haven’t seen the commercial here it is for you.

Once you break it down though, you start to realize just how sad and true this commercial is.  As I watched this I discovered 4 things that are wrong with the Nokia Lumina commercial.  Let’s break it down.

1. People taking pictures with iPads  

You see in the beginning a lady sitting in the front row taking a picture with an iPad. This is something that really bothers me about tablet users, and I am not just talking about the iPad.  Any tablet with a camera people will whip it out and take a picture with it.  Let me just say that this isn’t cool nor do you even look cool.  Imagine the people sitting behind you as you raise your tablet over your head to take a picture.  You are ruining the entire event because you brought your 9 inch tablet to a concert.  Taking pictures with tablets should be banned and anyone who does it, take their tablet, throw it on the ground and go Office Space on it.  This is reality though, and it needs to stop!

2. People taking pictures that you want to keep forever with cell phones

I have written about this before, I am taking more pictures with my cell phone, out of convenience.  However, just because it is handy, does it mean that you are getting the best quality picture? No you’re not! You will never be able to get the same quality picture as you would even with a point and shoot camera.  Not to mention that you are at your child’s performance, and you will more than likely want to keep these pictures forever.  Let’s take a minute to think that maybe they are taking video.  Getting video however, would lead into number 3 on this list…

3. The angry mob of parents wanting to take pictures

You know it’s true.  You have probably seen it.  Parents want so badly to get pictures of their kid’s performance that they will head butt people to get a picture.   When you are taking video with your phone the need to get close to the action is crucial. Without getting technical, the zoom on cell phones/tablets is digital zoom and will create a very distorted image and in reality you aren’t getting good video or pictures.  It would be like you’re not even there when you go to play it.  So here is my solution to this problem, the school could hire a freelance videographer to get video of the event.  I know a guy who is looking for work.

4. Parents inability to just enjoy a child’s performance

This is the most shocking part of this commercial.  It is sad how true this commentary on parents these days is.  At what point do we just want to sit back and enjoy how cute our kid is up on stage.  Watching how cute they are as they sing, play an instrument, or act out a part.  The pictures can wait; we do not need video of it, because more than likely your child will not watch it.  While I love my phone and what it can do, this is the part that really bothers me, just being able to sit back and enjoy something for what it is, without getting the cell phone out.  I am the same way so I am not saying that I am holier-than-thou, but this commercial attests to just how sad our life has become because of the smart phone.

This commercial shows the sad truth of what cell-phones have turned modern parents into.

This is in no way a review of the Nokia Lumia 1020.  

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on October 7, 2013, in Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. postpostmoderndad

    The reason I hate this commercial, if you freeze it at the 39 second mark you see the dad who is supposedly pointing the camera towards the performance is actually taking a picture of the floor. You could say “Oh he’s showing his wife the features of the camera.” But he does that literally just a couple of seconds later as she asks him why he isn’t jockeying for position. Oh, and why would a husband buy a $200 phone and the wife not know about it’s main selling feature?

  2. I certainly take a lot of pictures with my smartphone, although that’s generally due to convenience. It has its benefits as I often do so spontaneously on occasions when I wouldn’t have brought my camera. That said, I totally agree with you about it being worth bringing a proper camera for special occasions (e.g. family events, holidays etc.).

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

