Why ask Why?


Why ask why?  I am sure you are wondering why I am asking this question right?  Just the question “Why?” has been very popular in our house lately.

Just the other day I was fixing one of the toilets and the Kid was, I hesitate to say getting in my way and asking me what I was doing. I told him I was fixing the toilet and the first thing out of his mouth was

“Why?”

“Because it is broken.”

A puzzled look came across his face. I could see that he was looking at the toilet and saw nothing wrong with it.

“No it’s not.”

“Yes son it is broken”

“But why?”

Now at this point in time I was slightly irritated because I could not figure out why the dang thing wasn’t working properly but also because I was being asked why it was broken and I could not provide an answer to it.

Why has become a question that I have come to expect after my slightly smart response to his original question and face palm once I hear, “Why?”

I don’t want to be the parent that will say, “because I said so.”  Think about it, the only natural response from a 3-year-old would be to be even more curious and wonder, why.

I want to be able to provide all the answers that my son wants but sometimes his curiosity comes at the cost of me being irritated.  Just the other day he came up to me and ask me the meaning of life knowing exactly who to turn to, I asked Siri who had just been upgraded on my iPhone and was told that “some evidence points to chocolate.”  Which confirms all previous notions that Siri is in fact a real woman.

This why phase will test my patience and at times will turn me into a grumpy parent that I wish not to be.  The challenge will be to keep myself answering all of the questions honestly.   Except for the dreaded, “Where do babies come from?”

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on September 20, 2013, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

