Go To Sleep!


Son, sleep is invaluable. You will learn this when you are my age. It is 10:20pm and I want to go to sleep, but I am sitting here blogging. So let the irony begin where I give you some advice but don’t listen to it myself.

If there is one thing I enjoy more than playing with you, it is sleep. When your mother and I before you were here, we would get as much sleep as we needed. We would be able to get a full 8 hours of sleep at night. Now, I sleep like this…

You will not go to sleep in your bed unless you see me in your room. This has been going on for a month now and I am slowly working my way out of your room so that we can stop this need to have us in the room. On a nightly basis your mother will walk by your room and see me hanging half in your room and half out.

There are some nights, like last night, that it would take you an hour to go to sleep. One thing that you will learn, is that you are a much better person to be around when you go to sleep quickly and sleep through the night. Another thing that you will learn is that, your mother and I are much better to be around when you do not come walking into our room at 2am and end up sleeping with us.

Son, we love you, we really do, but mommy and daddy need some time together. You suddenly have this need to push mommy and daddy away whenever we cuddle or kiss. Which is a different story for a different day. When you end up in bed with me, you end up kicking me as if to say “I don’t want any brothers or sisters!” Leaving me to not get much sleep when you join us, which leads me to being cranky the next day.

You will someday learn that sleeping is vital. Someday, you will not wake up at 6am and you will sleep until 9am instead. Until that day comes all the coffee that we are having to buy is coming straight out of your allowance… but first maybe I should learn not to give you gummy bears right before you go to bed.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on October 29, 2012, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I didn’t think my youngest was EVER going to sleep in his bed all night (Believe it or not, you will eventually miss his late night visits). To make matters worse, my youngest is a giant child. We actually got a bigger bed because of his visits.
    What did the trick? One of his siblings or the dog had to sleep in his room with him.
    Time for you to get a puppy!
    Oh, if you are gonna give out gummies at bed time, give a whole bunch, then wait 20 minutes for the sugar crash. Or, soak them in vodka first. Same difference. I’m just saying. Not that I’ve ever done either. šŸ˜‰

  2. I can empathize – we have a 4 year old that refuses to fall asleep. No matter how tired he is, he’ll roll around and play with his hands, feet, pillow, blanket – even his hair – just to keep himself awake. We’re still trying to figure out how to get him to actually fall asleep before midnight, and not wake up at 5am. šŸ™‚ Here’s hoping we both get sleep soon!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

