You and Your Jayhawk (Part 1)


Son, in the fall of 2012, an attempt was made to have you sleep in your toddler bed. We stuffed your bed with your stuffed animals and as we result, we ended up taking this picture of you.

To tell you how we got to this point we need to go back three months to either June or July, I can’t remember.  No it was April or May! That’s right because I was working weekends which played a key role later in this story.

You had just learned to crawl out of your crib.  You weren’t doing it all the time, really only when I would encourage you.  Your mother would always get mad at me for this, however I would later remind her that she was the one teaching you to jump off the ottoman and onto the couch, that is a different story.

You were not only crawling out of bed but when you were running around the house you would make the epic journey up and into our bed.  But what you did next made your mother and I look at each other and ultimately decide to try the toddler bed.

You pulled the covers up and acted like you went to sleep.

After a bit of convincing  your mother begrudgingly caved and let me put on your toddler rail.  Little did I know that I should have listened to your mother and not pushed this as much as I did.

That night you crawled into bed like a big boy. You loved it! Up until the point when mommy and daddy had to let you fall asleep.  You would scream so loud that we had our neighbors come  from two houses down to  make sure that everything was OK.   Maybe I am exaggerating that part, but at the decibel you were screaming it could have happened.

After a two-hour battle you finally gave in and went to sleep.

That was the easy part, what happened the next day was a day of hell for your mother and how I ended up putting your crib back together after only 24 hours.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on October 3, 2012, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I have 2 year old twins and one has been crawling out of her crib. My husband wants to convert to toddler beds and I am doing my best to discourage him! I like that wr put them down for bed they play and talk for a little bit and evemtually fall asleep contained in their own space and cant (for the most part) escape!

  2. It’s hard to know exactly when the bet time is to make the transition from crib to bed. It’s never easy to teach a new sleeping situation. But, if a child can crawl out of be, he or she will and that is a big danger.They can easily hang themselves. I’m pretty easy going on parenting/child mile stones, but on this one it’s a must. If they can climb out, the crib has to go. Put in a dutch door if you want to make sure your little on stays in his room, but dump the crib.

  1. Pingback: You and Your Jayhawk (Part 2) « The Rookie Dad

  2. Pingback: I Feel Itchy « The Rookie Dad

  3. Pingback: You and Your Jayhawk (Part 3) « The Rookie Dad

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

