Scared


Dear Kid,

I get that you have been sick. It happens. I can not be upset at you for that. New daycare means that you are exposed to different germs that you have not built up immunity to. However, you are feeling better now and this whole screaming bloody murder for a half hour when we put you to bed has to stop.

© The Rookie Dad

I do not know what your deal is. You will only sleep with mommy and daddy now. Which let us be honest, we do enjoy, but puts a strain on mommy and daddy. You are such a wiggle worm that it is almost impossible to get a good nights sleep. Not to mention now you get all up in arms when the mom and dad cuddle on the couch or when you come up and running when mommy daddy kiss and try to separate us. It is almost like you are forming jealously. Well to be frank, jealously is a bitch, get over it that is what I have learned.

We have decided that we will try a toddler bed to see if you will like that. Are you scare of being in the crib and having no way to get out? If that is the case hopefully this will help.

It is almost scary how fast you have grown up lately. Your vocabulary is growing day by day. Just the other day you saw a blue lid on your sippy cup as you were drinking it, then pointed to it, and said “Purple.” Not quite but I can see how you would think that. You are speaking in sentences now, your favorite ones are “I Love You” and “Have a good day!” It is always to hear you say those as you are headed out to for the day. You keep asking for Grandma’s dogs and saying them by name. It is almost like you are hinting that we need to get a puppy for you. It will be a while before that happens.

As much as I complain about some of the things that you do I will always love you. I will always be there for you when you need help. I might not be the person you want to come to with your math or english homework, come to think about it do not come to me with girl problems either, I might not be much help there either. Everything else though I will do what I can to help. I want to help you go down the right path in life and right now you are well on your way to living a great life!

Love,
Daddy

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on September 21, 2012, in Letters To the Kid and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Maybe she’d be in a better mood if you stopped smothering her with a Truck book? (kidding!) Great post,

  2. It’s harder on you than it is on him. He’s just putting up the fight! We just put our three year old back in a bed. She wasn’t ready at 18 months when we first tried. She would’ve stayed in too but she’s too big!

  3. I hope the toddler bed helps. We made the switch around 24 months and it definitely helped with a lot of the changes.

    • I am wondering if he was really ready for this or not. He still will not go to sleep without us reading to him. Which is perfectly fine by us but sometimes can be a strain on us when we know it is his bed time and he won’t go sleep without at least 10 minutes of bed time stories. I look at it like this is only the beginning.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

