Teaching History


 

Today is a day that we all remember.  We all know what we were doing that day and the emotions that we had.  It has been 11 years since the attack. 11 years of a new generation that has been born into our heighten security sense of mind.  11 years of kids that will only learn about what happened from the history books.

How am I going to explain to the Kid what happened that day?  How can I convey to him what the nation was like following?

I can tell him exactly what I was doing and the emotions that I was having.  Will it get through to him?  I can tell him how resentful I am of my Junior English teacher, Mrs. Brom, for not showing us what happened in second period.   It took me driving home from lunch only to turn the TV on and then not even eating lunch as my eyes were glued to the TV.  Will he understand the urgency for understanding that day?

I can show him images of that day, try to explain to him what goes through me when I see them.  I know that he will ask some questions that I will be unable to answer or questions that are difficult to answer just because of the emotional toll.  It is something that while difficult for parents we have to come up with some way to explain the meaning of today to our children.

Of course we will never forget.  Now, 11 years later, our job is to make sure that this new generation will never forget.

 

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on September 11, 2012, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. it’s hard when they are so young. My son asks a lot of questions right now and all I can say is some very bad people did some very bad things.

  2. It’s never easy explaining bad thing to our kids. It never will be. The best we can hope to do is never forget and try to think of the tragedy in a way to honor the lost and allow our children to learn to respect and honor them

    Aaron

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

