Collateral Damage


There comes a point as a blogger where your writing and personal life intertwine.  A line that can be crossed easily.  It is not always seen in the mix.

A point where, I have yet to realize, that there are people who do read this blog that might be offended.  Most of those people I do not care if I offend because you might not like the topic I am writing about or like my views.  Others however, are much closer and I do not want to hurt their feelings.  They are people close to me and hurting them can cause more damage than good with the authenticity of this blog.

If you are a regular reader, you might realize that I am pretty candid in most of my posts.  Only stopping to self-edit for punctuation, which according to Hot Mama is so bad my college writing teacher would wonder how she let me pass.  I never stop for content.  I write what is on my mind.  What I forget though, is that my blog is not anonymous.  I wish that it was.  Many of you know who the person behind the screen is.  Many of my blog topics come from real events and only the names change along with some creative story telling.

Another thing I forget though, is that many of those real events come from people who are extremely close to me.  Many of the topics are harmless to most people.  From time to time though I cross the line.  I mention names and write about those people in a demeaning way and the next day after hitting the publish button I am embarrassed by what I said.  Remember, I do not self-edit for content.  This is what bites me in the butt and can cause strife.

My blog and the topics are never meant to hurt, only to start a discussion in the hopes that there is someone out there in the universe that shares the same experiences I have.  I also hope that there is someone out there who will learn from my amateur tales and know that I am the idiot making those mistakes in the hopes to make you a better parent.

As a blogger who is constantly searching for content, some topics are best left untouched.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on September 5, 2012, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I personally have never been offended by anything you have written, but I am as cold and heartless as you 🙂

  2. I’ve been there. I’ve written about stuff. Stuff I was truly wrestling with. But it was about where my story intertwined with someone else’s story. And it did cause damage. Sometimes I still write the posts. And if I’m not sure I leave it as a draft for a day or two. Sometimes I never hit publish. I wish I could. But sometimes it’s not my story to tell.

  1. Pingback: Spam Comments « The Rookie Dad

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

