21st Century Photo Album


I am only 27 years old, some consider this young, to my son it is considered old. I am apart of the age of children that grew up on the grand marketing scheme of Steve Jobs who gave Apple II’s to schools, teaching us that Apple is the one and only computer company. I grew up on iPods, computers, the internet. Technology is something that has become apart of me.

I have attempted many blogs in the past usually in the form of journals or motivation to exercise. All failed. Why? Who was I sharing this with? It was for myself. Why did I start another blog? I was having a baby and wanted to share it with the world! What new parent does not want to do that? What a better way to share the stories and tribulations of parenting then through a blog that everyone can see and relate to!

As technology grows more advanced, these stories that I write, will never wilt or lose quality as the ink fades. They will find their own corner of the internet and stay there. They will always be there. As I write this now, I am using Google Documents, saving each and every keystroke in the cloud, rendering every word in my head forever remembered.

Using Facebook or Google many share pictures of us, our families, our vacations with everyone. What has this started? A 21st century photo album! Who prints pictures off anymore? Photos are now uploaded and shared. How do you share your stories with your family? A blank email is opened up and instantly the tale is told to the people of your choice.

When I started this venture nearly two years ago it never occurred to me, that one day, my son would read this. That is the reality of the time we live in. I know that there will be stories that he is embarrassed by that I shared publicly on this blog. Anymore though your life is anything but private. So much happens as a parent that I know I will never be able to remember it all. My hopes is that one day he will be able to read the funny, tragic, and embarrassing moments of his childhood and relive those moments as I saw them at the time.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on August 22, 2012, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I really liked the idea you are presenting here. I really can’t remember the last time I printed a photo. By the way, I love your photos.

  2. Nice post. Just the other day I had to print photos for an art project, and the whole experience bordered on nostalgic. Flipping through the 4 X 6 cards was a bit trippy, prompting a family adventure digging into huge boxes of photos from days gone by.

  1. Pingback: The Times, They Are A-Changin’ « The Rookie Dad

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

