Pee-Pee (Part 2)


To read the first part of Pee-Pee read it here!

The Kid no longer wanted his book. I reached into the diaper bag and pulled out Thomas the Tank Engine.  With a big glow in his eyes he started rolling the engine over my head.  The priest at this point was talking about how Sunday’s are meant to spend time with God (see I was listening).  The Kid throws Thomas in a Hail Mary throw across the sanctuary.  Everyone is silent at this point and you heard the train hit the floor.  Out of nowhere the Kid yells,

“Pee-Pee!”

With embarrassment written all over my face I stared at the Kid and said, “We don’t say that in church you can ask nicely and I will give you Pee-Pee.”  Again remember I had not had any coffee!

I suddenly realized what I had just told my son in church.  I tried to act like nothing had happened, but I was fully aware of the people on either side of me silently laughing.  I was determined to find the dreaded Pee-Pee.  As any good parent will say the art of reaching into the diaper bag to the depths of the unknown, you can find anything in there.  I believe at one point I found a used license plate but that is not what I was looking for this time.  With one arm in the bag, the priest saying to the whole congregation that there are some kids that are just so filled with the Holy Spirit that they like to talk alot during church, I whispered to the Kid,

“I am looking for your Pee-Pee”

To the normal person this probably sounded pretty bad that I was saying such a thing to my son. But to a parent of a train obsessed 2 year old this could only mean one thing that the Kid wanted Percy the Train.

I dug through the diaper bag and pulled out a freight car.  The Kid saw this and began to cry as the priest finished his sermon.  Holding the Kid in one arm, I physically looked in the diaper bag unable to find Percy.   The Kid looked at me with the puppy dog face whimpering “Pee-Pee” and then exploded in a full out cry!  A cry so loud and obnoxious that it was to much for even the cry room at church.  I picked up the diaper bag, looked at Hot Mama who can read my mind at this point in time and followed me out of church.

We head out to the car unable to finish mass and loaded the Kid who is still screaming.  I started to dig through my back seat pulling things from under my seat, an old coffee cup, a bottle that the Kid has not used for nearly a year,  a toy car, but no Pee-Pee.  Kicking and screaming we drove home.  The kid ran into the house and in the middle of the living room found Percy and started to giggle and play with Percy on his tracks.

Percy (Pee-Pee) from Thomas the Tank Engine

I sure hope that God understands why we were unable it through church this past Sunday.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on August 21, 2012, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

