White Men Can’t Dance


My teenage years were chalk full of awkward moments. The normal teenage crushes, sending a love note to said crush with a check yes or no option, asking a girl to a dance, getting rejected, asking a girl to dance at the dance and then stepping on their toes. Ok maybe my teenage years were more sad (have not changed have they?) than awkward. What teenager does not have at least one awkward or sad moment once during their formative years?

Those years played a crucial role later in my life. During college I was never big into dating, the topic of girls was a different thing, but I had one girlfriend who I almost let ruin my life, dated a few times after that but then never asked any of those girls out again. That probably comes from my pubescent age. The confidence was never instilled in me that I women actually liked me for me. Partially, because lets face it, my ex-girlfriend nearly killed all the confidence I had.

Graduation came, I divorced a whole set of friends I had and moved into a new town a single man and ready to mingle. Naturally, where does one turn in this situation, online dating? This is how Hot Mama and I met. Even then it was like pulling teeth for us to actually meet, my car was crap and I thought she wouldn’t like me because of it. Well it was not that case, my broken door-knob and muffler that made my ‘97 Toyota Corolla sound like Grave Digger, did not matter to her. We hit it off and the rest is history.

Fast-forward to our wedding day, we had never danced together, and I had never danced since well my senior prom. This time however, I did not step on her feet. Little did we know at that moment we would have a little boy who would need to learn how to dance…

I really hope that the Kid does not learn how to dance from me. Being a dad has changed everything for me. I have more confidence and I am not afraid to make a fool of myself to make sure that the Kid is having a great time. If you can not tell, we are in the middle of a restaurant while I was “dancing” with the Kid. He loved it and it turned his mood around, than he threw his mac and cheese all over the waitress.

I hope that I can instill in him though that it should not matter if he can dance or what his car is like, that women will like him for him. I want to give him the confidence to be himself and nothing else matters.

But I did tell Hot Mama that if anything happens to her, I will use the Kid to help pick up women. Maybe somethings do not change.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on August 13, 2012, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

