A Busy Life


It has been nearly a month since writing on my blog, it has not seemed that way with everything that is going on in our lives now. Hot Mama getting ready for law school, toddler bed, back to crib, travel, and now potty training.

I will not apologize for not writing… I always seem to do that. It just seems that there has been so much going in our lives now that by blog has been the last thing on my mind. I may sit there and think, “oh that would be a good story” but I do not feel like sitting in front of a computer and putting the words down to tell it.

I will not lie, the thought of ending this blog has become a more prominent idea inside me for this past month. The relationship that Hot Mama and I have, has grown exponentially in the last couple months. Because of that, it takes time away from my blog. I’m ok with that. There are more important things in life than this blog.  The marriage that Hot Mama and I have built is 100 times more important than this.  I want to show her each and everyday how much I love her and how much she means to me.

There have been friends who wish that I would end this blog… some that were happy during my April Fools joke that thought it was true. If that is the case, I am not sure why the heck you are reading my blog in the first place. My blog was built for me to find a support network of other dads who can help me through my parenting journey. I have found them and that is what is why I continue to blog. There have been friends who have been nothing but supportive and suffered through my incorrect grammar. To them I say thank you, I appreciate you reading and helping me during this journey.

It seems that once life gets busy, you want it to slow back down. It does not. Life only continues to get even more busy and you wonder how you made it through before. Something tells me that my life will only get even more busy now and for the next foreseeable future.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on July 31, 2012, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I hit when I thought I couldn’t tell anymore stories. When I thought no one was reading and totally questioned why I was “blogging” in the first place. I took about a month off and I guess you could say I found myself again. My voice came back. I don’t care if 3 people read my blog or 3000. I have to write because I consider myself a writer and that’s what we do. Plus, like you said, its a great outlet and a great place to meet others in the trenches.
    Keep writing. I’d miss it if you left.

    • I am not going to put an end to it right away. I am hoping that while Hot Mama is law school I will have time to write while she is studing since during that time I will not feel this need to be with my family instead of at a computer.

  2. The dad support network I have been embraced by since I started blogging and tweeting has been amazing. While my blogging has also slowed down as a result of two very busy toddlers, I still like that it is there for me to share on when I have the time.

    I’m a huge fan and loyal reader of your blog, so please don’t go away. 🙂 I love that you’re around, and while you might not write a ton, I enjoy what you do have to say. Thanks for being an awesome part of this amazing network of dads.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

