Bad Time to be Sick


When the kid is sick… you know the parent will eventually get sick! (¬© The Rookie Dad)

I love being a parent and would not take it back. In fact I had to turn my head so that Hot Mama could not see me with tears in my eyes as we watched as a baby was being born on one of our favorite TV shows last night. I do not know if I was reacting the way that I was because I miss that feeling of holding a child in my arms for the first time or if I knew exactly what they were going through. Nine months of preparation and suddenly within 12 hours your whole life changes.

There is one thing that has changed that I was not ready for. Getting sick, I am not talking about the Kid getting sick. I was prepared for that, what I was not prepared for though was that I would get sick. I guess the Boy Scouts did not teach me well, maybe that is why I was never an Eagle Scout. I was one that I had the strongest immune system around, I would never get sick. I have noticed now that I am getting the sniffles and coughs more so than earlier.

There would be no problem with this with the exception that this comes on the eve of a 3 generation trip to the MLB All-Star Fan Fest with Grandpa, the Kid, and myself. I can only hope that I am feeling good because I know that the Kid will see me make a fool of myself trying to re-enact the dramatic 3rd inning grand slam home run in 2002 that led my High School Junior Varsity baseball team to victory… which I will make sure there is no video of me trying to do that.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on July 6, 2012, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. This happen to me not that long ago. I also wrote about it on my blog. Hope you feel better causing trying to keep up with a child while being sick is tough. http://www.thebuckeyekid.com/2012/05/life-goes-on-even-when-youre-sick.html

  2. Amy Billinger

    Enjoy the game. Even if you are sick, don’t forget how cool it is that you are there, but I pray that you won’t be sick.

  3. Wait till he gets to school. You’ll be sick every week. Better stock up on Vitamin C now. I hope you can make to the game.

  4. Young kids are notorious for germs. I was sick about ten times in my oldest daughter’s first year.

  5. Summer sickness should be outlawed.

  6. Asking questions are truly good thing if you are not understanding anything completely, except this piece of writing gives fastidious understanding even.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

