I’ve Been Challenged


After a rough week last week, and being a Catholic christian, before you leave, read on, this is not a religious post, I went to confession and the priest gave me a different type of penance (for those of you who are not Catholic this is a way for us to make amends for our sins) it was not to pray, although some prayers were included, but a challenge. A challenge to spend some time with just my family, my son and wife.

This challenge could not have come at a better time, last week I posted about how I have not been doing that, and with the Forth of July it could not be any easier. While penance should not be easy, this will allow me time to reflect even further into the father and husband that I want to be, while spending time with the family.

This was a challenge that I took on wholeheartedly and will make sure to carry out as I feel it will be good not only for me, but for my family as well. They will get their father and husband back.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on July 2, 2012, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Spending the day with your family is way more exciting than X amount of Hail Mary’s. What a rad priest. (I’m Catholic, too.)

    Enjoy your day, buddy!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

