Daddy Wake Up!


It has been a long day and I am tired. I tell Hot Mama that I am going to hit the hay and walk into the bedroom. I see what appears to be a huge pile of clothes on the bed that have yet to be folded.

This has become a normal thing, it has become very difficult to fold the laundry with the Kid playing around. He likes to think that he is helping, really though, he is just throwing the clothes into the middle of the living room and unfolding all the clothes that we (I should just say Hot Mama) have folded.

I was tired, so I just crawl on my side of the bed not folding the clothes and leaving them on Hot Mama’s side of the bed. She comes in five minutes after I have laid down and starts to fold the clothes and throwing my clothes on top of me so I will actually fold them. I have a tendency to just throw them on the floor and will just pick up what I am going to wear that day off the floor. As a result of the laundry not being folded before I was going to bed, I end up actually getting to bed an hour after I actually said I was going to drift off into a peaceful sleep. This has also become the norm in the house.

We finally end up hitting the sack and I drift off into my dreams of Mila Kunis. Only an hour into my slumber, I hear this whine coming from the baby monitor. Naturally, I go to turn off the noise. When I do this I open the door so that way I can still hear the Kid. I guess that I was so tired that I drifted off to sleep again and 15 minutes later Hot Mama is nudging me to get up. Again, I must have been really tired because not even that worked. What happened next, I do not remember.

What I do remember though is waking up next to a baby kicking me in the back as my alarm is yelling at me to wake up since it is 7am. I asked Hot Mama why he was laying with us, she ends up telling me that I did not wake up and she was hoping that maybe I would wake up when she brought the Kid into our bed.

Guess that did not happen!  I am sorry to have failed you both Hot Mama and Kid!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on May 25, 2012, in Friday FAIL and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Your Wife (aka Hot Mama)

    You forgot to mention that it was YOUR night to get up with him. 😛 Normally we’d let him “cry it out,” but he’s got a terrible case of diaper rash from accidentally eating tomato sauce (still can’t handle citrus), so we’ve been changing his diaper quite often because it hurts him even to pee. He wakes up and screams in pain every time he’s wet. SoMeBoDy refused to get up, so I had to get up at 4am since you wouldn’t. I was too tired to sit on the couch rocking him back to sleep. Letting him sleep in our bed was my passive-aggressive way of getting back at you for refusing to wake up. 🙂 Too bad it didn’t work… Love you, babe!

  2. Before I leave my comment…I’m having trouble leaving you a comment. The Gravatar deal seems to be messing up. Instead I will sign in under my twitter account. Thought you might want to know. Let’s see if I can remember what I typed before.

    From one older parent to another, know that this too shall pass. It’s difficult when you are in the “thick” of things, but know that very soon your child will be out of diapers and sleeping through the night. It happens faster than you realize. Try not to let the laundry {which is never ending} and the night time stuff bring a wedge in between you two. I so enjoy you keeping things real, though. It’s what helps us relate to you. Hang in there you two! I can tell you are both great parents, keep up the good work! 😀

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

