American Dream


Many of my readers already know of my career change and the many changes that my family is already going through that come with that. Yesterday, I experienced something that I was totally unprepared for.

5 o’clock rolls around and it is time for me to head home from the new job. I call Hot Mama and tell her that I am on my way home and explain to her how my day went. It was a brief conversation knowing that we had all night to discuss the day. After hanging up I find my sports radio station and drive home, which makes the time fly.

I turn the corner onto our street. I Avoid hitting all the cars which are parked on the street because people refuse to use their driveways for what it is intended. I round the corner onto our driveway, hoping that I set an example of what a driveway is to be used, but instead I am greeted with Hot Mama opening the front door and the Kid running to me wanting a big hug. Never in my life have I felt more apart of a family as I have at this moment. This is what a normal family is, one that works normal hours, one that has weekends and holidays off.

It is all apart of the American Dream right?

Posted on May 24, 2012, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I’m in between jobs right now so it’s good to follow your new endeavors. Thanks for sharing.

  2. That is a pretty awesome feeling! Nothing makes my day more complete than to come home to a giant hug and smile from my kids.

  3. Now you need a dog and another one and a half kids and you guys will be the definition of nuclear family! And I’m really happy for you and your family. That’s a great feeling.

  4. So happy for you and your family. Let these good times continue!

  1. Pingback: The American Dream: A Call to Action! | M Power Learning Group, LLC

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

