A New Chapter


Working in news has its highs and lows. It has his perq’s but there is one major downside.

The Hours!

I work Saturday – Tuesday, typically anywhere between 40-45 hours a week. Missing the two days of the weekend is extremely hard on my family. We are unable to go to events and see family unless I ask off for the weekend. It is very rare that I get to spend time with Hot Mama and the Kid all at once. Only if it is in the evenings for 3 or 4 hours. We are unable to attend church which is a very big part of our lives. I also do not have holidays off, which makes seeing family during those times very difficult. It is all about to change.

I have been offered and taken a job that is 8-5 Monday through Friday with guaranteed holidays off and better pay. I would be stupid not to take it right?

Making this move will not only make my family life a TON better but will also reduce a lot of stress in my life and make me less cynical. While it is bittersweet, I have been at my current job for five years, it is very strange thinking about my life without my current job. There will be a transition into this new career path as never have I had a job where I will have these normal hours let alone have to wear something other than shorts and a tshirt to work.

During the interview process a song came on the radio that seemed like someone knew I needed to hear it. Phil Vasser’s “Don’t Miss Your Life”…

I missed the first steps my daughter took
The time my son played Captain Hook in ‘Peter Pan’
I was in New York, said ‘Sorry son, Dad has to work’
I missed the father daughter dance
The first home run, no second chance
To be there when he crossed the plate
The moment’s gone now it’s too late
Fame and fortune come with a heavy price
Son, don’t miss your life.”

I feel like I have missed so much working in the media industry, it is not a family friendly place.  Do I regret getting into the news? No, it was what I really wanted to do than Hot Mama entered my life.   When it was just the two of us it was not bad, but enter the Kid and my whole perspective on family and life changed.  I want to be home, I want to coach little league, I want to teach him how to ride his bike and have Hot Mama video tape it.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on May 8, 2012, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Congrats buddy. I worked Saturdays for a lot of years. Its tough. I’ve missed a lot but do my best to pack as much in with the kids as I can when I’m home. Good luck with the new job. Hope its great. And happy for you and the family.

  2. Congrats! I hope this job is rewarding but most importantly, I hope it truly does give you that extra time with your family.

  3. It’s tough leaving TV… There was always something about telling people that you work in TV news, you were always the most popular person in the room even though you hated talking about it. Life will be so much better now, even though your wife and kid will probably get sick of having you around so much. Congrats on the new gig!

  4. The change is awesome news for you and your family. Congratulations on being bold and following your heart. I stepped down from an executive role to eliminate business travel, long commutes and late night work so I can spend more time with my then 9 and 6 year olds. Despite loving that role, I knew what was most important. You do, too. Enjoy the perks of this new role!

  5. Congratulations! My last day with my old job was yesterday, and today I am reborn! I will start-up a business locally and not have to travel so much (I was on average travelling 50% of the time) and can then focus on my kids. I was in the old company for 7 years, and totally enjoyed it… but now I am looking forward to having a better work-life balance and more time with my kids!

  6. Amy Billinger

    That is so awesome bro! I am super excited for this new chapter in your life!

  7. I teach. This means that I work these business hours as well. PLUS if get their breaks and Summers off as well. More time with your kids is always a good thing. Congrats.

  1. Pingback: The Shake-Up « The Rookie Dad

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

