Where’s the Heat?


This morning, was a morning in which I failed before I even woke up.

It is about 5:45am and there is a whimper coming from the baby monitor. I let the whimper continue for just a few minutes to see if he would go back to sleep, the Kid was not. I ascend out of bed and turn, what has now become an alarm clock off, and inside my head I am hoping that the Kid will go back to sleep.

When 6:45am arrives, I roll over to Hot Mama getting up out of bed. In the distance, I no longer hear a whimper like I had an hour earlier. It was a full-blown cry. Hot Mama changes the Kid’s diaper as I make him a bottle, as I feel awful that I did not wake up with the Kid to take care of him. I am able to crawl back into bed before the diaper change is over, and as I do the Kid in the arms of Hot Mama comes into our room. She lays the Kid into bed with me and hands him his bottle and says…

His room was freezing!!!

Even though I was still in the zombie like state the gears inside my brain go from 0 – 60 in 3.2 seconds flat. Realizing that we did not turn the heat on, as the other day it was over 70 degrees, I jump out of bed and head over to the thermostat.

Yup, 64 degrees in the house! Oops!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on April 20, 2012, in Friday FAIL and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. 64…that’s hot in our house! 🙂

  2. Oh! Poor you! We’ve done things like that. Poppet would scream and scream in the back seat of a long car drive and we’d think she just didn’t want to fall asleep. Eventually she would listen to us and be quiet, but we’d arrive at our destination or a gas stop along the way to find her with her hat completely over her eyes! “hey, guys? guys? GUYS?…..” We felt horrible!

    Warmest regards,
    Joy
    http://www.PardonMyPoppet.com

  3. As we say in my house when it’s cold “Chilly chilly baby”. Poor little guy. I’ve totally done that before sans baby. I’ll have to keep a better eye on the temp soon!

  4. I’m right there with ya. I have to make a conscious effort to remember to check the heat at night. The baby’s room is upstairs and the heat barely makes it up there as it is. It’s been in the 70’s and 80’s all week but I have to keep our heat on 71 overnight for her! She’s worth it. 😉

  5. If I forgot to leave the furnace on, we’d die. lol

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

