The Mommy Blog


As I have perused the interweb there is something that has bugged me. I hate to lump all the Mommy Bloggers into this group because I know there are those out there that are not like it. But what is up with Mommy Blog? Where is the content and where is the design common sense?

I can not read anything because there are so many “bloggy” awards or they are members of this blogging community or that one. As I have visited many of these blogs I can not find what they are actually blogging about. Their content is lost among and endless amount of self-promotion. In fact there is very little content at all even on their blog.

When I went to a Mommy Blog I clicked once on the scroll bar (their banner was so huge it took up 3/4 of the screen) to get to their content that was given maybe 2 paragraphs, in the grand scheme of things not that big of a deal… however most mommy blog content, is either a give-a-way or promotion of some sort which I will get into later. But, I was curious, so I continued to see how long their site was… it took me another 12 clicks on the scroll bar to get to the very bottom of their site! Seriously? You have so much crap on the side bars that it takes me 12 clicks to get to the bottom of the page! Compare that to my blog and it is 5 clicks!

I have one side bar filled with my creative content license, Facebook, follow me, email me, archives search, category search, and a small blog roll. I am not saying that I have the best design or the best daddy blog in the world because I do not! If you want the best head over to Twinfamy, EduDad, Daddy’s In Charge, I’ve Become My Parents, Man Vs. Dadhood, Founding A Father, Diaper Dad, or Daddy Knows Less.

Let us talk about the content now. If you are going to call yourself a Mommy Blogger actually blog about being a mom or stuff that will help being a mom. Do not just have give-a-way to your “readers.” Sometimes I wonder how many readers a mommy blog actually gets. Answer? Any mommy bloggers that are still reading and I have pissed off in this post want to indulge me? Parenting companies are now using the mommy blog as promoting their products which is all well and good but that is all that the mommy blog has become now is either a review or give-a-way. Write something worth reading, or maybe to other mommy bloggers your site is worth actually going to.

I will not say that they are not bloggers because they are. It is just that your site is a visual overload on my eyes. I am not asking for a boycott of all mommy bloggers until they learn what makes a web site look good just learn what makes a website look good! Until then those mommy bloggers better have a damn good headline or else I will not be visiting your blog. (this does not go for all mommy bloggers… there are a few out there that their blog looks great and I will continue to visit)

Posted on April 19, 2012, in Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. I know EXACTLY what you’re talking about. Overly cluttered momBlogs and ones that are just promo giveaway sites are not interesting to me. Men and women DO organize differently: our way makes sense and their way is weird and foreign. There is also a blogging divide between CONTENT bloggers like us and GIVEAWAY bloggers. I am not interested in the overly cluttered promo blogs.

  2. Well feel safe. You haven’t pissed me off because I agree. There are so many blogs I stumble across that ask for people to vote or like me and you’ll get a free hat.

    The reason I set up my blog was so that family and friends can keep up on what is going on. I don’t get a lot of readers and I have personal goals for growth every year. I also find very often I use it to vent.

    As for numbers I am getting on average 20 visits a day. My highest day was 96 views and of course my lowest was 0. I know there are ways to increase my views however I am also not on a mission to have millions of hits a day but that would be cool eh?

  3. Good post! I too really dislike promotion/corporate sponsored post driven blogs. In my opinion blogging is about sharing your unique perspective on the human experience. That doesn’t really happen when brand XYZ is having you bake snacks with their product and you say how delicious they are. If you didn’t get a chance to check out my post on how Mom bloggers undermine the men in their lives please check it out! http://ohpapa.wordpress.com/2012/04/17/im-tired-of-being-thrown-under-the-bus/

  4. oooh…you are starting quite the battle! šŸ™‚

  5. I too hate cluttered blogs and thanks for the mention. I am in Triberr as well and have removed myself from so many tribes because all they want me to share are coupons, discounts, give-aways… drives me nuts.

  6. Thanks for the list. I followed http://twinfamy.com without even reading it. Any blog that has a post with a picture of Big Foot is totally worth following.

  7. Well, I’m not sure if I agree or not. I agree that there is WAY more visual content, but a lot of ladies are visual. We don’t write the Mummy blog for men after all. But I also have to agree that there a billion Mummy blogs with no clear direction. That said, I really appreciate your point of view and would love if you would take a look at mine and let me know what you think since I do have a male following that is larger than I thought it was, so value your opinion.

    Warmest regards,
    Joy
    http://www.PardonMyPoppet.com

    • Obviously, a lot of mom blogs write with a female audience in mind, but like you said, there are still males who wind up reading as well. One thing I’ve always thought about mom blogs is color choice–a lot of moms go heavy on pinks and purples, and as a guy, once I load the page, I’m already thinking “There’s too much pink and rainbows and hearts and stuff here” and I think design choices like that can in a way alienate potential male readers. (By the way, I’m not talking about your blog, Joy. Yours is clean, easy to follow, and doesn’t make me feel like I’m surrounded by My Little Ponies, which I appreciate.)

    • No, yours is not one I am talking about… on yours it is easy to find and read the content without being bombarded.

  8. I’m with you, man. This doesn’t just apply to Mom blogs, though. There’s plenty of clutter on a lot of blogs. I can’t stand it when there’s so much crap all over the place that I’m constantly distracted from what I’m actually trying to read. Great point about the banners, too. I feel like the second the page loads, a reader should be able to start reading the most recent post. If I have to scroll down past an enormous banner I’m already irritated, and that affects my reading experience.

    I hate to get all nerdy Ph.D. up in here, but research has actually shown that simpler is better. Blank white space is good because it focuses your eyes on the content. That’s one of the reasons I intentionally put a big space on my blog between the writing and the column content. Less crowded and easier to follow.

  9. I can see why some of those blogs are over run with banners, ads, etc and why their content has turned in to pure giveaways. The lure of being able to make money can cloud what we originally intended the message to be. That or they only wanted to be a giveaway blog from the get go.
    I just did a giveaway and felt a little like I “sold out”. I’m hoping accolades, money, and fame come my way for my content and not because I gave something away.

  10. So what you are saying is you have no give-a-ways? HA HA HA.
    Well you aren’t alone in your thoughts, and this reader enjoyed your post. Cheers!

  11. Internet rule #483, clearly illustrated here. If you see something online you don’t like, don’t look at it, OR, look at it so much it drives you batshit crazy and makes you write a post railing against its very existence.

    You do make valid points though. Hope you don’t get flamed into charred bits. Hell hall no fury like a pissed-off mommy blogger.

    Love,

    A mommy blogger

    • I am not lumping all mommy bloggers in this group. I clearly stated that in the beginning. I don’t want people to assume that I hate the mommy blogger… because I don’t there are alot of good ones out there. Ones that are not all about the give-a-way, the reviews, and promotions.

  12. There is a big difference between “visual” and “cluttered beyond ability to interpret what the heck is going on”.

    You can do giveaways, just be neat and clean. You can do sponsored posts, at least be honest about your thoughts – I hate that every review is PERFECT. You can do “awards” just put it under a tab so it’s not distracting readers from your content.

    Think of the blogs that you love to read, ladies, then organize appropriately.

  13. I’m a mommy blogger and I agree!
    I average 35K/month, my highest month was 500K, and I don’t even have ads. I started a blog because friends had joked that they wanted me to start a funny blog and I enjoy writing. The Queen of the Couch was born.

    Now you do have me paranoid that my design is too girly, though. LOL

  14. ~*~RamblingMomma~*~

    I confess my blog may be a bit random (though i do say i ramble about random things,lol), though when i see a lot of “fluff” with giveaways and whatnot, it makes me wonder if someone is trying to compensate for something

  15. I’m a mommy blogger and I don’t consider the blogs you’re describing to be an actual mommy blog. Generally those are professionals climbing onto the mommy blog bandwagon and claiming the “mommy blog” title to make money. I doubht most of them are actually women or even mothers. That said, there are a lot that are 100% reviews and giveaways and again, those aren’t “Mommy blogs” – just because a blog is written by a mother, doesn’t make it a mommy blog. I do the occasional ad or giveaway but I try to keep it to 90% quality content – and I also joke with my readers about the bullshit ads I do – I don’t claim that it’s in anyway “content” – “And now, it’s time to pay the internet bill.” I get very frustrated by people in my Twitter feed who offer NOTHING in the way of content – another pet peeve is blogs that do nothing but offer links to other people’s blogs – it’s capitolizing on other people’s creativity and drives me NUTS.

    While I agree 100% with your sentiment, I disagree with your use of the word “mommy blog” -because you’re not describing a mommy blog. You’re describing a shitty blog.

  16. I am a grandma blogger and I agree–I get a little tired of blogs that only offer reviews and giveaways, nothing else. I do an occasional review or giveaway, but only if it is something I think my readers would be interested in. I have seen grandma blogs that only have copy and pastes of forwarded email jokes. If you can’t write, you can’t write, so why bother?

  17. While I agree with everything that you have indicated as irritating, I think it’s a bit unfair to lump all mommy bloggers in that category. I think just like in any aspect of life you are going to find some who are in it for the love and some who are in it for the $$ or freebies.
    I’m a blogger, who blogs about things related to my children, husband and family. I guess that makes me a mommy blogger. I write because I enjoy it not because I want to have 10,000 followers (which I don’t have anywhere even close to by the way). Having said that, I write about things that peak my interest, things that irk me, things that confuse me…all related to parenting…and I also read blogs that interest me as well. If the blogs that you are speaking of irritate you,, then don’t read them.
    I guess I feel like it’s not really fair to lump all mommy blogs into one pile as you have, if unintentionally. I’m sure there are daddy blogs out there that do the same, just as I’m sure there are mommy blogs out there that you would enjoy reading.

    • I said that I am not lumping all mommy bloggers into that category. I am sorry that you feel like I am. There are plenty of mommy blogs that I do read on a regular basis.

      If I end up on a site that I am talking about here, I immediately click off of it and leave. Soon having remorse because I up the stats of a bad blog.

  18. mostlytruestuff

    ahahahahahahhahhaa. It’s true. I’ve wondered about this, even though I am technically a “mommy blogger”. I saw a blog that had 1400 followers (mine only has about 300) and then their stats for the MONTH was less than mine was for the DAY (it was a good day). I was thrown off. I thought followers were a direct indicator of page views. Not true. I’m not sure why that person had so many followers and so few page views- they still post regularly- but I think it has to do with spamming the hell out of other bloggers and entering every linky list and bloggy give away they can, and having them themselves.

    BUT BUT BUT, it’s a good litmus test as well. If the blog has ZERO “flair” on it but has hundreds of followers, you know that the CONTENT is probably good.

    Mine is somewhere in the middle. I have my email, my followers, an Amazon Associates Ad for a friend of mine who is using it as a fundraiser for their adoption and a couple of blogs I’m a part of. And even still, I feel like it’s too much.

    I go to delete! And I’m pretending to leave offended because that’s what we Mommy bloggers are taught. Be offended to cause drama. Then parley that into people feeling pity and clicking your “follow me” button.

  19. Yes, few blogs are so flashy (i need my sunglasses)…. So much clutter, ads, banners, marketing, seems so unreal like a pushy salesman…
    I started blogging this week, and I thought thats how its done but somehow its so not user friendly that I had to google your blog to fell better about myself….

    Check me at http://couleurzncollection.blogspot.ca/ and do give me tips….

  1. Pingback: A Big Thanks For The Awards Received ā€“ allaboutlemon

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

