Play with Your Toys (Part 1)


We have never had this problem before. Well that is of course because our sweet Kid never really knew what it meant to do this until he was able to walk and enjoy this activity. Once he got a taste now no matter what he wants to do this…

Go OUTSIDE!!!

I don’t find this a particularly bad thing. However when you think about it, he wants to do it all the time! I mean (say this in your slow Sandlot voice) ALL THE TIME!

20120407-201821.jpg

© The Rookie Dad

Something that the Kid has yet to learn is that when it is raining we can not go outside… unless you want to sing in the rain, and he can not sing now, and I would hope that he does not have a girl he can kiss in the rain yet as much as that would make me a proud dad though. I love spending time outside so what is the problem you ask? He is the biggest and baddest pest in our garden!

The Kid enjoys to play in all the dirt, and take all the dirt out of the garden which will then longer support plant life. Do not go thinking that we have deprived him of play toys outside. The Kid has a plethora of outside toys that he can play with. He got a T-Ball set for Christmas (an outdoor toy so that has not become as bad as the Golf Ball set) and the play gym that we got him for his birthday (which he loves or loved). You tell me which would be more enticing to a 17 month old boy baseball, play gym, or dirt?

Yup, the garden and dirt. We have the hardest time keeping the Kid from playing in the garden. It would not be that big of a deal if he would keep the dirt inside but no he likes to throw the dirt and sometimes even eat it.

Why won’t he play with his toys?

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on April 10, 2012, in Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. One of my friends made her boys a box of dirt and rocks, looking very similar to your garden box. She put in their toy tractors and bull dozers and they dug up that instead of her garden. It’s genius!

  2. We got the Twins a sandbox and they LOVE it. They get tired of their toys and being in the house in general pretty often lately, so I’ll take them out back and they’d stay there all day if I let them. The problem is the Arizona sun is getting more and more intense, so I’ll pull them out before they get sunburned and have to put up with some of their finest tantrum work to date.

    I remember loving being outside when I was a kid, too. I think there’s just something about being outside that trumps toys. Maybe it’s something in us that yearns to connect with the natural world, especially with all the modern sterility of digitized toys. There’s really something to be said for sunlight and fresh air, too. I feel like I’m going nuts if I go too long without it myself.

  3. I’m 36 and I still love playing in the dirt…which doesn’t really help you out I guess. Stop buying him toys and open up a Home Depot credit card 😉

  4. 100s of dollars worth of toys and kids always go for dirt, sand, leaves, puddles, or snow every time. Why bother?

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

