Found: Modern Dad


© The Rookie Dad

Yes, that is me, The Rookie Dad. Doing what dads Today do. That is being a dad! And carrying around my man purse… yeah that is right I said it… my man purse, AKA diaper bag.

I love being a part-time stay-at-home-dad. I would not trade the time that I get to spend with my son on my days off work for anything in the world. I can already feel the bond that the two of us have built. It feels as if that bond is stronger than any sort of glue that you could find.

I believe that bond has turned me into what I like to call the “Modern” dad. TV and movies have given dad’s a persona that we are uninvolved, uncaring, beer-drinking idiots. Those are not true, with the exception of the beer drinking part. The Modern Dad does exactly what I am doing in the picture, being a dad to my child.

I am the type of dad that is involved and active in my sons life, I always will be. I am not going to sit idly by as he grows up into a man. I want to be there to teach him the type of man that he should be. We are all aware of the studies that dads who are involved in their child’s life give their child a better opportunity to succeed in school and stay away from drugs.

I hope to change the way that people look at dads. I keep getting looks from people when I am out alone with the Kid at Wal-Mart, Target, out running, or where ever I am, as if I am being looked at like I do not know what I am doing. I hate to say it but I do, and there are more dads out there like me who are proving the stereotype wrong. Next time you see a dad who is involved or you see a dad who is struggling to take care of their child give them a hand and tell the dad that you are glad to see them involved.  Slowly but surely we can change how dads are perceived!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on April 2, 2012, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. If only all dads were like you! Unfortunately vast majority these days are not! So well done you!

  2. I personally can appreciate when a dad does stuff. In my daughter’s mommy and me class, there is a dad with twins and he rocks it!

  3. Wonderful post! My husband is also very involved with our little girl and it is so good for her. He doesn’t get to stay home with her (someone has to have a job unfortunately), but whenever he is home, he is right in the middle of things.
    It’s so great to see more and more dads who choose to stay home just like you. It’s not an easy job but very rewarding, isn’t it.

  4. So glad you posted this! More dads need to be confident in knowing that their parenting abilities are perfectly fine. They have such amazing talent and skills to contribute to the raising of their child. You modern dads are awesome!

  5. Keep it up and thank you for being a good example to other modern Dad’s! 🙂

  6. Pardon My Poppet

    Good for you! I love having a hubby who is such an involved Dad too! I know he wishes he could spend even more time with Poppet than he gets too, but he certainly does his best. Great job!

    Warmest regards,
    Joy
    http://www.PardonMyPoppet.com

  1. Pingback: Extra! Extra! Read all about it! « The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

