Up and Down


Where the Kid learned how to do this I am not sure, unless he has some other family he goes and spend the night at, which I am well aware after last night that he does not. He could go there on the nights that he is good and come back at a very early hour and wake me up at that God awful hour.

The Kid knows how to climb up and down stairs with ease.

We have no stairs in our house, only the ones that go down into our basement but we do not spend a lot of time down there. In a recent trip to the in-laws after making a bee-line straight to the dog he runs to the stairs, grabs a hold of the railing and starts climbing down.

Scared the crap out of me because I was afraid he would fall!

Being the over-protective and over-bearing dad that I am, I rush over and help the Kid climb down the stairs. After helping him down the stairs he looks up at me and says “Stairs” in toddler speak, reaches for my finger, and starts to climb back up the stairs! This was a reoccurring activity during the weekend in which dad and mom got more than their fair share of exercise.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on March 31, 2012, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Same thing happened to me…watched my son climb a flight of stairs and was completely shocked! We don’t have stairs either!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

