Ruined a “First”


I have failed again but first I have not announced it yet but feel that Today’s post is worth bringing it up.

Hot Mama is going back to school. She will be attending Law school in the fall for the next 3 years. It is something that we are looking forward to because she will enjoy what she is doing and give us financial stability to be able to do some of the things that we have wanted to do for a while now.

So what does that have to do with my Friday FAIL?

I was fielding a phone call from the Dean of Admission at the Law school in which she really wanted to get into and normally on the fridge is a blank notepad to write stuff down for a grocery list. She went on to give me her phone number, one of the few ways I can actually get a ladies phone number these days, and being the forgetful person that I am I told her to hang on a second and let me get something to write the number down on to relay the message to her.

I find a sharpie which at that point was a good enough writing utensil for me. I still could not find something to write the number down and as I am glazing over the fridge I find one of the Kid’s drawing. The thought process in my head was so fast that all I remember thinking was that it is not that important of a drawing. I write the number in sharpie on the drawing, call up Hot Mama, and tell her to give them a call.

Number has been blurred to protect the innocent (© The Rookie Dad)

The exciting news is that she got into the school she wanted the bad news, once she came home and saw where I had written the phone number down she turned that piece of paper around and shows me this…

© The Rookie Dad

Uh Oh! I just ruined the Kid’s very first drawing! Way to go Rookie Dad!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on March 30, 2012, in Friday FAIL and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Don’y feel so bad…the positive side is that you can also write down the date of the written message and keep it as memorabilia not only of William’s first drawing but also when your wife got her law school admission call 🙂 Hey, at least you didn’t toss the paper away…I’m sure that’s happen to some other parents!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

