I Wanna Be Like You


I am a hard working person. I work 40 hours a week and I still make time to spend with my family. I make sure every day that I make some time for both of them individually. It maybe just a few minutes in the morning with Hot Mama as she is getting ready for the day talking with her or helping with the Kid’s breakfast.

Never did I imagine that I would be looked up to in the way that I am looked up to like the Kid looks up to me.

During a very busy week at I was getting ready in the morning and had already fed the Kid who was playing in the bathroom as Hot Mama and I were getting ready for the day. He opened one of my drawers and pulled out one of my old electric razors (that makes it sound like I have a collection of old razors, well I do not) and he started to run the razor over his face like he was shaving!

Suddenly, I had this rush of emotion come over me because he had watched me and learning the things that I do on a day-to-day basis. I couldn’t help but think of the Rodney Atkins song “Watching You”

I’ve been watching you, dad ain’t that cool?
I’m your buckaroo, I wanna be like you.
And eat all my food and grow as tall as you are.
We got cowboy boots and camo pants

I realize just how much of an influence I have over the Kid now. What I say, the things that I do, and how I react are all things that his little mind is soaking in.

I am going to have to start being careful now! HAHA!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on March 11, 2012, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love that song!! I did a father’s day video for my husband with that song. Little sponges.

  2. This writing has inspired me to start writing on my own blog

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

