The Hunter


Breakfast is an interesting time in our house. I have taken notice that the Kid likes to eat, ALOT! I am sure that he is going through a growth spurt, which good for him because he will be a future Kansas Jayhawk or baseball player if I have my way. I swear that this Kid eats more than a 16-year-old boy. It seems like he is always coming up and asking me for something to eat.

He asks so nicely though. There are times that he will come up to me and reach for something on the kitchen counter and I will look up and see that he is reaching for a bottle or knows that there is some form of food up there. Typically, either graham crackers or Goldfish crackers. I know that he is a growing boy and that it will only get worse as he grows older. However…

I was sitting down one day, reading “Moneyball” and I look up and all of a sudden I see that the Kid has something in his mouth. I was not sure what it was so I had to take a closer look. It was a whole graham cracker! I asked him where he had gotten it and I should have known that I was not going to get an answer out him. Part of me did not care how long it had sat out but part of me was wondering, and wondering where in the hell he had gotten it.

© The Rookie Dad

I look up again from my book. I will admit it, I was a bad dad and probably kept my eye off of the Kid longer than I should have. This time the Kid had something in his mouth that he was eating AGAIN! This time it was a dried apple that I had given him earlier in the day, but I made sure that the floor was clean after each feeding.

So where was the Kid getting these things to eat? I have a feeling that there is a secret hiding place that he has that someday we will find moldy food in.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on March 8, 2012, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. they are little scavengers…eventually at that age we just stopped cleaning the cheerios up off the floor so they could have a snack whenever they wanted!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

