American Moms Deserve Better!


There are a few things that I have a passion for baseball, University of Kansas Sports, being a dad, and over the course of the last two years after learning what my wife’s maternity leave policy was, I am joining the fight for moms on Maternity leave.

Hot Mama was only able to use up her PTO days once the Kid was born and then after that her leave was unpaid. UNPAID! So instead of Hot Mama taking 3 months of leave she only took 2 months of leave. I do not know how we did it but we did.

I thought I would share with you this infographic that I received from Take Part about the United States vs. the rest of the world in maternity leave.

Courtesy Take Part

American Mothers deserve better!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on March 5, 2012, in Parenting, Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Holy crap, you guys deserve way better! I was so fortunate that I recieved 52 weeks of leave at 55% of my income. Then my company had a policy that they would top up my government benefits to 75% of my income for 17 weeks.

    Dads can take part or all of the time as well. It can be split. My hubby let me take the entire time and it was wonderful. I couldn’t imagine going back to work after 2 months. I was still recovering from my C-Section.

    You have my support for better!

  2. wow! Even third world countries get more maternity leave!. I have always thought it was ridiculous. As a teacher, it takes all of your sick leave and then you get disability if you buy the insurance. It’s so stupid that all your sick leave is taken, when you come back, you can’t even take a day off without loss of pay! i am lucky that I can work from home and don’t have to worry about it, but I have several friends who are back to work 6 weeks after having a baby. They aren’t even on a schedule at that point!

  3. I really really like you for writing this post. Two mat leaves and I had to send my kids to care at 6 and 3 months, respectively. It hurt. It sucked. I was miserable.

    Its so unfair. It needs to change.

  4. I should have moved to Sweden.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

