Dad Purse


Only a dad would say that carrying a bag around that looks like a purse is not grounds to lose their man card.

Speaking with someone the other day who is not a parent she laughed when I said that. She realized that when you are a parent you are not afraid to look like a fool sometimes. I had forgotten my key card at work and needed to borrow hers to get into our parking lot. She was digging through her purse and I just said “Hand me the thing, it will not bother me.” Her response was that she didn’t want me to have to carry around her purse. I told her that I will not lose my man card by carrying around a purse because I carry a purse/bag with me everywhere I go now anyway.

I can say that even though I have a different diaper bag then Hot Mama, I am not afraid to carry hers around if I have to. There is something about being a dad that does not make us afraid to lose our man card to other men who do not understand.

I posed the question of, Were you afraid to carry around a diaper bag that looks like a purse?, on my twitter and facebook page and let me just say that I did not get the same type of response as me.

@SaskaDad mentioned

I bought an army green one with lots of pockets. So I guess I was afraid to look like a purse carrier.

@DaddysinCharge responded with…

never was but I wore cargo Pants and shoved everything into those pockets

@diaperdads said

Dude! DAD GEAR. Seriously. This is the diaper back I carry.

He even mentioned that his wife even carry his DAD GEAR bag too.

And lastly Robert posted this on my Facebook page,

Generally no since I’m not insecure. But it’s uncomfy to do so for the sake of it ( if not needed) and if the bag looks so girlie.

I ask this and I carry around my diaper bag. A manly bag that does not make me feel like I am carrying around a purse. But there are times where the wife insists on taking hers.

After hearing the responses that I got maybe I would lose my man card if I carried around my wife’s diaper bag. But damn it I’m a dad, and I will do whatever I have to do, to take care of my child!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on February 28, 2012, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I don’t want to give up my stroller because I won’t have a place to store all of my stuff when walking! Heaven forbid I actually have to carry my own purse!

  2. Yeah, stuff like that kinda loses it’s fear/care factor after kid(s) and becomes, “I got this being I have to keep alive, it’s hungry and I’m late. The purse is the last of my concerns.”

    But, uh, I do carry it weird and by the bag itself, not the strap. So some alarm bell somewhere is going off.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

