Stop Hitting Me


I do not know if this is more of a behavioral thing or if it is a discipline thing that the Kid feels he has to do to get his way. When we take away something from him and he wants to do it, he hits us.

Obviously, Hot Mama and myself do not condone this type of behavior in any way. Just the other day I took my phone away from him because he was about to do something on there that I did not want him to do and what did he do, he smacked me right on the cheek. I got onto him pretty good about that one, just got into his face and said that I do not like it when he does that. He gave me the bottom lip quivering, cried, then smiled at me and hugged me. I do not know what it is but the Kid makes it so hard for me to stay made at him for to long.

On many occasions Hot Mama has been hit, and the same thing has happened. We are baffled because we have no idea where he is learning this behavior. He has never and will never see me hit anyone so I know that he has not learned it from me. We know that our day care provider would not allow for that type of behavior when he is with her. So where is he learning this? Is it a phase that we have to endure?

The Kid will have to learn that he is not going to get everything that he wants. It is a constant battle when we let him walk outside before putting him into the car. The simple solution to that is, not letting him walk when we take him out the car. Well, it is not that simple. If we carry him out to the car or if we let him walk he still fights it. We know he loves car rides so I do not think that is the issue. He just wants to play and at that time we do not have the time to let him play.

Are we bad parents? I know we are just a year into this and we have about 17 years or more of defiance but I was hoping to wait at least another year before we started dealing with this type of behavior.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on February 26, 2012, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. my son NEVER hit. My daughter hits about 476 times a day. William is at the age where he can’t fully articulate his needs so he gets them met by hitting. Tell him to use his words or to sign. With that said- I can’t get my daughter to stop hitting (fortunately it’s more like a tap) and I think I have tried pretty much everything. You get any suggestions- let me know! πŸ™‚

    • I have a feeling that this is just a phase that we are going through. He just gets mad that he isn’t getting what he wants and that is the only way he knows how to show it. He will learn… eventually.

  2. It’s a phase, not you! Wait until you get to the biting stage….that’s a fun one. πŸ˜‰ Hang in there; this, too, shall pass.

  3. My son bit rather than hit which was really painful, at the same age my daughter started hitting. I am leaning towards instinct, that coupled with frustration. Piglet (our daughter) isn’t talking yet so she gets frustrated allot and I noticed that the biting started to wane when Master X (our son) started getting more verbal and could explain himself better. This too shall pass.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

