Where Have I Been?


Lately, I have been trying to figure out where I have been.   I was looking at the pictures that I have taken in the past two months and noticed something very strange about them.

© The Rookie Dad

© The Rookie Dad

© The Rookie Dad

Where you able to notice something? It sticks out like sore thumb in all of these pictures.  This is very normal for all the pictures that have been taken of my family this last year.  Where am I?

Come to find out, I am the person behind the camera! Obviously.  This all started when my wife for our first Christmas as a married couple bought me a nice DSLR camera because she knew that I wanted to get into photography.   Now, I am not in very many pictures.  Let alone I am not in very many of the videos that I shoot for the family.


You can obviously hear my voice but you can only hear me and not see me.

I have a tripod that I could set up to take posed pictures of me and the kid, but try getting a 16 month old to stay put for more than two seconds is a challenge in-and-of itself.

Hot Mama has issued a challenge to me that we take more pictures as a couple because so many of our pictures are centered around the Kid.  So the question is how does one take pictures of the family and have themselves in them also?

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on February 18, 2012, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Depending on which DSLR you have I would invest in a wireless remote. They can range from $25-$50+ then you don’t have to set the timer you just play in front of the camera and press the remote in your hand as you feel. Or hand the remote over to the kid and see what comes about. Either way it ends up being fun!

  2. I’m not in any pictures either. Fortunately, now I have an iphone so I can take pictures of me and the kids with the flip it around feature. It helps. I always think that if I die, they won’t know who I am!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

