One Step To Far?


I am sure that many of you have already seen this video making the rounds on the internet…

The age of social media is new to everyone.   Right now, there are no rules to it.  People can post whatever they want and rarely see consequences.   Parents are now having to learn how to parent a child who can post whatever they want to on Facebook, Twitter, or a blog.   Hot Mama has even had to “parent” me a little on some of my posts, I’m very grateful for that because I’ve been known to post something without thinking.  Teenagers don’t realize that what they post on any social media site can hurt them in the future when they are unable to get a job.  How do you teach a teen that?

This is said for every generation but parents (myself included) are now dealing with the things that our parents never had to deal with.   My parents hated the fact that I spent so much time on the computer and on the internet talking on MSN Messenger with all of my friends from out of town.   They did things to prevent me from even getting on the internet, they took the ethernet cord from the modem so that I couldn’t get on it (I either ended up finding it, or making a cord in my Computer Networking class),  put a password to login to the computer (I ended up finding a way around it) and finally putting a password on the computer before it even booted up.   Their parents didn’t deal with an age of children who were technologically savvy, in fact their parents dealt with their kids staying out late playing baseball or football in the backyard.

I know that my parents are proud of who I am and the life I am living.  Their parenting got me to this point.   Even though my teenage years might have been a rebellious time, who’s teenage years aren’t right?, I turned out just fine because I still had supportive parents.  I don’t want to claim that today’s teenagers are out of control because the same amount of blame can go to the parent.   As a parent you have to figure out what works for your child.

I don’t agree with how this father handled the situation, I am sure there was a better way to handle it.  I am on the outside looking in so I won’t attempt to claim that I know how to solve the problem.  I just hope that parents and teenagers alike can some lesson from how this father taught his daughter a lesson.   I am sure that in 15 years there will be something new that I will have to parent the Kid in that has not been dreamed of yet.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on February 12, 2012, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. that was interesting, not sure I would do that, but I can only imagine the satisfaction he felt in shooting her laptop! She does sound like a little shit.

  2. I don’t know if that is how I’d react either, but I am not sure I wouldn’t. It’s hard when someone you love so much hurts you that way. I would have to figure out ways to limit her computer time, etc. It’s easy not only to be hurt, but to hold the blame internally too. That’s why part of our part as parents is to stay technologically savy too so that we can be apart of that world with our kids. It’s too easy to let them go if we can’t be apart of it.

  3. I don’t see why you think this is going too far. He bought the computer for her, and she used it against him.

  4. So I tried to watch the video. YouTube said they had removed it for copyright reasons. This post peaked my curiosity so I searched and found another ‘copy.’ I am shocked for various reasons:

    1. I can’t believe this girl does all the chores she says she does. I would be in heaven if my kids worked like that.

    2.The Father scares me. If he is going to shoot her computer…I don’t know…it’s a little off for me.

    3. It sounds almost like the girl was crying out for help, in a sense. Surely she knew her Father could read the post, that he would find out.

    4. Why does the Father think his Daughter will never see this video?

    We just don’t know what the history is here. Being a parent is tough. No matter what age we live in. You are right, though, we do need to teach our children that we each have a virtual footprint. Anything we say can and will be used against us…so to speak. So if we are in the ‘heat of the moment’ and we type something we will regret saying later, it is permanent, not to be erased. It’s really scarey. Being a Christian, I am so grateful for repentance. I’m grateful that when I do something wrong, I can be forgiven and know He won’t remember my sin/mistake. I’m glad God has a delete key. As parents we need to be able to use the delete key as well when are kids make mistakes. Wow, didn’t realize I was going to go all preachy there.

    Mind you I would be extremely upset if my one of my children did what this girl did, but I’m a little worried at how he handled this situation. It might be detrimental for their relationship. Will she feel that her Father has the capability to forgive her after she has completed her punishment? Either way, it is not for us to judge, I guess…but then did he make it our business when he decided to post it on YouTube? This is really disturbing to me. Then again it is an eye opener and can only help me as a parent. You really got me thinking and typing. Way to go 😉

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

