What Should I Do?


Today is the official start of the Kid going to day care all days on Monday and Tuesdays.   We have only had to take him in the afternoon on those two days because of my work schedule but, he enjoys going to daycare so much that we decided that it was time to extend that time.  We can’t say enough good things about our day care provider who is flexible enough to deal with my schedule changes.  Plus, on top of that, when the Kid turns 18 months she is going to start him on a pre-school curriculum! This also factored into our decision to send him all day on just those two days.

Now, because of this, I actually get some time to myself on these mornings.  I almost do not know what to do!  What will be nice is being able to sit and get some blogs done but outside of that I think I will just sit around in my underwear, read the morning paper, and drink coffee until I have to go to work.

In all seriousness, it will allow me to be able to catch up on some books that I am reading and later once the weather warms up, go fishing, running, then once baseball season starts get caught up on the games that I missed.

© The Rookie Dad

It is all about him growing up and it will actually be kind of tough on me, because I love playing with the Kid and the time that I get to spend with him.   This is impeding on that time.  Anything that impedes on my time with my son and wife, I get pretty upset at because I honestly don’t get to spend much time with them together as a family in the first place.  The only times we have together are in the evenings when we don’t have anything else going on.  I have not joined any groups because of this.  I want to keep keep my evenings free just so that I can spend time with them.

Alright time to excuse myself the couch and morning paper are calling my name!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on February 6, 2012, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. good for you! I sent my kids to day care one day a week for a few hours just to have some time to myself. Then I traded daycare for a gym that offers a monthly massage with membership. Either way, the kids are out of my hair!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

