Men and Sports


I’m a huge sports fan.  Mainly college basketball and Major League Baseball.  My teams the KU Jayhawks and the Colorado Rockies.   I’m sure that many of my readers haven’t heard that the major rival team to the Jayhawks is leaving the conference to go to the SEC.    To keep the history of this rivalry short Kansas is mad at Missouri for raiding the city of Lawrence and killing women and children during the Civil War.  Missouri claims that Kansas was the first one to raid a city, however Kansas did not kill women and children… so pick who the jerks (my nice way of saying that) really are in that.  However, this is one of the deepest rivalries in all of sports.

Anyway, I was watching youtube video that some Missouri students created and for some reason I let this video get under my skin.  It dogged on my basketball team and honestly wasn’t created very well.   My first immediate thoughts were that, they have one good season and think they are better then everyone else.  I realized when watching it that I am a guy and into sports and that I’m going to defend my team to death.  I won’t show the video on here because I don’t want to promote their school in anyway shape or form.

Why?

Well because one I grew up watching the Hawks and Rockies.  I love these teams.   I consider them part of myself and who I am.   There lies the issue, I feel like the team is apart of my family.   I have high hopes for my teams and when they lose, I lose apart of that hope.   With every little bit of hope that is lost every lose hurts even more.

I used to be the guy who if my Hawks lost, I would need to go find something to do to get my mind off of it.   I took the losses hard, especially during March Madness or the Playoffs.  I hated and still hate losing.  That has since changed as I’ve gotten older and now I am able to for the most part shove a loss off to the side and forget about it.   I still hate to lose but I’m able to handle it a little bit better.

Speaking with my friend John over at Daddy’s In Charge he says;

It is all we have that is OURS

As men we need to have atleast one thing that is ours and for many of us including myself sports is that one thing that I have and am able to watch and enjoy.   I’m not saying that I don’t enjoy spending time with my wife and son, sports is just my way of escaping for an hour or two.

Maybe, I shouldn’t take sports as seriously as I do, but you know what that is what makes it fun.  People take it so seriously they feel their teams are apart of them and their family.  That will not change with me and honestly I am hope that the Kid has the same passion I have for sports, whether it is for KU or the Rockies I don’t care.  I just want him to love and enjoy playing/watching sports in the way that I do.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on January 31, 2012, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good blog. As a father of three girls I have to agree. Sports are what we like and what we do. As more and more of our time and resources are spent providing it’s important that a piece of who we are is carved out…for sanity sake.

  2. Who is that guy you quoted? He seems like an idiot 🙂 I get all of it, I live and die through Syracuse basketball. I would live my kids to have the same passion I have for my team but they are a little young yet and the idea that they would sit down and watch a game with me is not happening anytime soon. At this point they like to root against me just because they know it will get to me. It’s cool. Someday they will have a team to root for and my team will kick their butts!

    BTW… 2003 must have sucked huh? Let’s Go Orange!

  3. don’t forget to thump your chest! 🙂

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

