Fab 5 Friday (Baseball Movies)


Rick Vaughn "Wild Thing" - Major League

I’ve decided to end the Friday FAIL.  Instead I’m going to start Fab 5 Fridays, which will consist of lists of the best or worst 5 of something.   You may not agree with me, and that’s fine, give me your argument.

This weeks lists, is my top 5 baseball movies.  I’ve been on this baseball kick lately, just itching for spring training to get started.   As many of you know I am a huge baseball fan.  So this is a good way to get the Fab 5 started.

5. Major League – No list would be complete without atleast one of the Major League movies. Rick Vaughn the Wild Thing helps the Cleveland Indians survive and not move to a warmer climate. Charlie Sheen aside you gotta admit that they did a pretty good damn good job of making Vaughn look like the closer for the team.  I wouldn’t want to face the “Wild Thing”
4. The Sandlot – I grew up on watching this movie.  In fact this movies takes me back to my childhood since we had our own version of a sandlot with a backstop in a field behind our house.   I always dreamed of playing baseball under the fireworks of July 4th like these boys.  I could only wish I had a group of kids that would just gather in the back field and we could just play ball all afternoon like these boys.
3. The Natural – All boys at some point in their life dream of playing in the big leagues but with Roy Hobbs he gets his big break when most ball players are about to retire.  This is the story line of many movies to this date.  Robert Redford who plays Roy Hobbs designed his swing from Ted Williams, and with his lighting carved bat makes a name for himself in this movie.
2. Moneyball – I’m sure Brad Pitt brought in alot of women who normally wouldn’t have seen this movie.  He did a great job in this film.  This movie gives us a look at what baseball is today by looking at ways to basically buy runs.  The scene where Billy Beane says that he will pay out of his own pocket for a player and then when he is traded back he will take the profits, is exactly how it happened from the author of the book “Moneyball”.  There is not much baseball played in this movie and what baseball is played is footage from the 2001 Oakland Athletics.  But this movie gives a good idea of how the back rooms of baseball work.
1. Field of Dreams – This movie just makes me want to go out back and build a baseball field.   If the ghost’s of baseball past would come a play a game on my field I would be taken back.  Not enough can be said about this movie and how good it is.  Remember, “If you build it, they will come”

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on January 27, 2012, in Fab 5 Friday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I love baseball movies and I agree with you for the most part but you are missing one of the best. For Love of the Game, the perfect balance between a sports movie and for the ladies a bit of romance. My Mom pretty much hates sports movies but loves that one. I’ve not seen Moneyball yet. I have a copy sitting here waiting for me to watch but I’ve been told it’ll become one of my favorites.

    Great segment! Granted I will miss Friday Fail just a little. 🙂

  2. Hey dad…you wanna have a catch?

  3. Great list but you practically have another top five of baseball movies.

    5. The Badnews Bears
    4. Mr. Basebal
    3. Eightmen Out
    2. Bull Durham
    1. ALeague of their own

    R. 2l
    3

  4. When my son was 1, my husband had to resist the urge daily to go out and buy him a wooden bat and a glove, and then a few months ago, he came home with gloves for both kids. (bats are too dangerous at this age!)

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

