New Phenomena


Over the last couple of months, there has been something that is changing in our household.   It was never this way before the Kid was around.  In fact I never dreamed of the day that I would say that I actually like this stuff.

I actually like watching the children’s shows on PBS in the morning!

Sid The Science Kid, Super Why!, Word World, Dinosaur Train.  I don’t want to miss an episode!

The Kid loves watching them too, however I feel like I get more excited when Sid wants to know everything about everything.

I never thought that I would enjoy watching these shows.  Is there something that changes once we have kids that makes us enjoy kid stuff?  It is to the point where I can sit down during one of the Kid’s naps and watch Word World.  I am amazed at the different ways they makes things out of words. There are many other shows on I realize that, I know that I could watch something on Netflix.  I would rather watch PBS in the morning.

Is this more of the inner child coming out of me?  I was talking with some co-workers about this and they thought I was crazy.  They don’t have kids and I told them just wait they will be humming the theme song to Dinosaur Train once their child is old enough to watch.   That was a day that I couldn’t get the theme song to Word World out of my head and they were wonder what in the heck I was humming.

What is this phenomena that once we have kids we enjoy everything kids that we wouldn’t have enjoyed if we didn’t have kids?  Atleast it isn’t bad enough that I would chose these shows over my sports… so my Man Card is still intact.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on January 26, 2012, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. All ABORED!!! Now I have it in my head…thanks. 🙂 I’m sad that my kids don’t want to watch Nina on PBS Sprout anymore… They’re more into Dino Dan now, which I enjoy too, but it just means they’re getting older 😦 Enjoy it while it lasts.

    • We still have a while to go since the Kid is only 15 months old he still doesn’t sit down to watch any shows. He will watch for a few minutes and then won’t care after a while.

  2. I’m still the same way… When my oldest was really little he loved The Doodlebops, I have to say I kind of dug it too. I had a little crush on Dee Dee Doodle. It’s the same now, I like shows like Clone Wars, Scooby Doo and Ninjago. I have no problem admitting this. All parents do the same thing.

    I’m kind of sad that they are getting older because I miss the little little kid shows. It would be weird if I sat down and put in Little Einsteins and started watching it myself right?

  3. I think I’ve always loved children’s cartoons deep down, but having kids actually gives me a valid excuse to watch them again. And like the others, I’m always a little heartbroken when their interests change and they grow out of a children’s show that I’ve grown to enjoy.

    I have to say, I’m totally guilty of trying to push the shows from my childhood onto my kids, just so I can self indulge a little more (major points to my girl for latching onto She-Ra! I get to be 7 years old all over again)

  4. Don’t forget Zoboomafoo! My kids LOVE it! It’s an animal show and there is very little annoying factor.

  5. Yup, my little one loves them all! No shame. It’s great that you watch them too, then you can make in a more interactive learning experience by asking questions instead of just letting the kid veg out.

  6. Do you have to rely on your country to give you something all the time, think out of the box and
    improvise on how you would earn more than what employment can offer, CNBC investing may help.
    Supported hardware devices: UNIX supports less hardware devices than
    Windows. The above information helps you to choose the better one that suits your
    requirements.

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
    My blog is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would definitely benefit from a lot of
    the information you present here. Please let me know
    if this ok with you. Appreciate it!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

