Where did the time go?


I recently went over my self evaluation at work and it asked me “What my biggest difficulty was in this past year?” I stumbled over this question many times over the hour I was answering the questions. I’m not perfect by any means and I realize that, but trying to evaluate yourself is difficult. I started to take a good hard look at what my life is like now and what I wish I had more of and then was able to translate that also in my career…

Time!

I wish I had more of it in every aspect of my life. I wish I had more time to blog, I wish I had more time at work to do good stories at work, I wish I had more time to spend with my son and wife, I wish I had more time to spend on my hobbies. You get the picture.

Does this necessarily mean that I have a time management problem? It could, but when you have a kid all your time is devoted to your child.

Now, the Kid is getting to the stage in the game where I could take him out with me if I were to ever go on an afternoon road trip to take pictures. I’ve made it a New Years Resolution to take more pictures so I don’t understand why I don’t do that. Probably, because I don’t have the time to edit them. I have a hard enough time getting video on youtube of the Kid for the family to see.

I’ve thought about staying up late and either blogging or editing video, or getting caught up on my sports. The problem with that is, I could lose track of time. I would end up staying up until 2am doing that and then have to get up again at 7am with the Kid. I am not good on 5 hours of sleep, just ask Hot Mama.

So I am asking other parent bloggers out there, how do you do it? How do you manage your time so that you are able to still do the things that you enjoy?

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on January 22, 2012, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I struggle with the same question. How can I be awesome at all areas of my life with so few hours in the day? I don’t really have a solution, but I’ve been trying to prioritize all the things I want to get done. Family comes first, doing well at work and my other responsibilities comes next, and then everything else filters down from there. As a result, I don’t blog or write as often as I’d like, I’ve pared my TV shows down to just a few hours a week (DVRed for viewing when time allows), and all my others interests and hobbies are relegated to “every once in a while.” I try not to get bummed about giving up some of my stuff by reminding myself that in a few short years all the kids will be more independent and I’ll have more time for myself and with my wife. So for now I’ll do what I can when I can.

  1. Pingback: Where did the time go? | Best Way to Promote Your Blog | BlogHyped

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

