Heart Healthy Dude Recipe


One of the many reason’s that I have chosen to get healthy is because heart disease runs in my family.  My grandfather died of a heart attack, my other grandfather has had triple bypass surgery, and I had a cousin who died at a very young age from a heart attack.  

February is American Heart Month and I have been on the hunt for great recipes that are manly enough to get me full but also that are healthy for me.  I’ve come across some great recipes that I am trying out that I will post and also give my take on them.  

Beef Tenderloin with a Balsamic-Coffee Sauce

Courtesy CanolaInfo

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 tsp coarsely ground black pepper 4 mL
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder 2 mL
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder 2 mL
  • 1/2 tsp salt 2 mL
  • 4 beef tenderloin steaks (5 oz/140 g each), about 1-inch ( 2.5 cm) thick
  • 2 Tbsp canola oil 30 mL
  • 4 large shallots, peeled and finely chopped
  • 6 oz/170 g sliced portabella mushrooms
  • 3/4 cup strong coffee 175 mL
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar 60 mL

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 200 °F (400 C).
  2. In small bowl, combine black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and 1/4 tsp (1 mL) salt. Sprinkle both sides of steaks with spice mixture, pressing down with fingertips to adhere. Set aside. Let stand for 15 minutes.
  3. Heat 1 Tbsp (15 mL) canola oil in large, nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Cook steaks 4 minutes, turn and cook 2-4 minutes longer or until desired doneness. Place steaks on separate plate and place in oven to keep warm.
  4. Heat remaining 1 Tbsp canola oil to pan residue in skillet, cook shallots 15 seconds, stirring constantly. Add mushrooms and cook 3 minutes or until tender, stirring frequently, using two utensils as you would with stir-fry. Spoon equal amounts over beef and return to oven to keep warm.
  5. To skillet, add coffee, vinegar and remaining 1/4 tsp (1 mL) salt. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, continue to boil 4 or so minutes or until reduced to 1/4 cup (60 mL). Spoon over all and top with additional coarsely ground black pepper, if desired.

Recipe courtesy of Canola Info

My take on this recipe is very simple… I loved it! So did the wife!  We served this with corn and a red wine and she thought we were on a date even though we were eating right there at the kitchen table. 

Canola Oil is the most heart healthy of all the cooking oils with more Omega-3 Fatty Acids and very low saturated fat.  

For full disclosure Canola Info has provided me with this recipe and picture.  

 

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on January 21, 2012, in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have lots of healthy recipes if you need some!

  2. Looks awesome. Any idea if I can switch up the canola oil for Olive oil. You know us Italians…

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

