Broken Resolutions


So we are are only a three weeks into the new year and I’ve already broken some of my resolutions.  I’m batting about .500 on the ones that I created.

  1. Blog more often
  2. Get off my ass and exercise!!!
  3. Improve my photography for both work and personal
  4. Drive without getting distracted by the phone

I have not blogged more often.  I think alot of that is, I just don’t have the time.  Between working full time and then taking care of the Kid, I really don’t have a whole lot of time.  I’ve been so focused on a side project that it has been difficult to think about my own blog.  The side project falls into my second resolution.

For a matter of 3 weeks now, I have been hitting the treadmill and eating better.   The main reason for this is #dadfit.  For those of you don’t know, this is a group of dads who have gotten together to change our lives and become a healthier dad for our families.   I’ve made it into the third week of a training program for a 5k.  Luckily this is a couch to 5k program so that I don’t over extend myself from the get go.   But because of #dadfit I’m down 9 and half pounds from the new year!  I will credit #dadfit for this as this is just the type of encouragement and accountability that I needed.   Be sure to check out our blog and our facebook page to check out our progress!

While I haven’t taken as many pictures for personal reasons as I would have liked at this point in time, alot of this is because time is of major importance this year.  I just don’t have the time to devote the time that I would like to certain things.  This is one of those things that I can not put much time into.

I’ve broken this last of the four a couple times,  but it is now a very rare site to see my driving with my phone in hand either texting or checking email.   Anytime I hear my phone go off or feel it vibrate, I let it go until I reach my next stop or red light then check it.  I don’t want to be one of those drivers who isn’t focused on the road, I’ve been involved in way to many accidents to put my life at risk just because of my phone.

I am hoping that I will be able to find more time here in the next couple weeks to be able to devote some of my time to the things that I enjoy, my blog and photography.  But then again I have a one year old!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on January 18, 2012, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. you suck! 9 pounds! I have been trying to lose 5 and it ain’t budging!

  2. i am losing the battle with my new years resolutions as well, don’t feel so bad!

  3. Hey buddy be nice to yourself! It’s the beginning of the year and your accomplishment in the physical arena is awesome! I have a “dream board” in my bedroom for me to see and be reminded of. Maybe you can try that? See: http://robaminute.com/robs-challenge-go-3d-in-2012/

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

