Holiday Travel


This year with my incredible work schedule during Christmas, Hot Mama and I have made a decision to go out to Western Kansas and visit my side of the family.   From Kansas City this trip, according to Google Maps is going to be about a 5 and a half our trip.  Although we know when you are traveling with an toddler this trip is likely to take about 6 and half hours.

Both Hot Mama and I have said that this trip is pending any changes in weather, because in Kansas if you don’t like the weather wait 10 minutes and it will change.    However, with that being said, I’m not usually one to push traveling through snowy/icy weather.  I would much rather play it safe then sorry.  This trip, I might push alittle.  I think we could handle maybe 1-2 inches of snow.

This trip is an important trip, not just because we are spending Christmas with family, but because this is the first time that Great Grandpa will get to see the Kid.   After the events of the past couple years, we both feel that it is important for atleast the great grandparents to see the Kid.   Just because you never know how much longer you have to spend with them.  I’m not saying that in the next year my grandparents will die, they are in great health and are very active for their age.   We just want them to know who the Kid is and get an opportunity to get to see him.

Spending time with family is what the holidays are all about.  How far would you push traveling to see family until you said the weather is to bad?

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on December 15, 2011, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Safe travels! I am sure the great grandpa is very excited to see his great grandson!!! Merry Christmas and happy holidays.

  2. I don’t really want to make the one hour drive in sunshine to go see my family…

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

