Photo Organization?


© The Rookie Dad

I am seeking suggestions on how to organize our photo’s on our computer.

I used to organize them according to how old the Kid is and now that he has reached a year… the monthly birthday’s don’t seem to be that big of a deal anymore.  Now that the Kid is getting more and more expressive and active in his life, the pictures are so much fun to take because he isn’t camera shy anymore.  Either that or he has realize that the camera is not going to hurt him anymore.

I like to take alot of pictures and really need a good way to keep them organized so that I can go back and find them easily.   I use Picasa right now and have it automatically set up to find the photo’s within a certain folder but beyond that I don’t know how I should organize them within that folder.  How do you guys handle your photo organization?

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Tech and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I used to go by age, until we had our second…then it just didn’t work anymore. I go by season…Fall 2011, Winter 11-12. etc. Some times is subcatagorize if there is a birthday or a trip.

  2. I have my camera set to automatically put all of the photos taken each day into their own folder on the SD card. When I move the folders onto my computer, I rename them kind of like the way blogs are archived–Year-Month-Day-Name of event. For example:

    2011-12-12-The Kid is Elected President of the Play Group

    Then, I put those within year folders so I don’t have a big long list in my main pictures folder. So the above example would go into a 2011 folder with others like it, all taken in 2011.

    It might seem redundant to put it in a year folder and then put the year again in the title of the subfolder but I like it because I use Picasa, too, and when it automatically imports, I can see the year, month, day and event title when I browse Picasa. This also makes it easy to search for photos by date and event because it’s all in the folder title.

    Then I use the facial recognition in Picasa to tag people in photos, so I can search by people, too.

    It’s really worked well for us. Hope that’s helpful.

  3. I have a folder named pictures, then a sub folder named kids. I used to sort them by child, that got difficult after having a second. Now I date the folders by month for random pictures (i.e. March -May 2011) and then actual event names for certain events (Thanksgiving 2011). I used to do it by month or age, which you could still do since you only are having one. I also have Picasa, but I haven’t spent enough time on it to know how to use it.

  4. The new age old question. I have tried all different methods but like the general folder of year, subbed into month and day or event works best for me. Any way you slice it, organizing photos is a pain. Good luck!

  5. For digital pics, mine is still work in progress. I started something in Flickr. My daughter has one folder sorted by dates. I think that’s the easiest. If you want special photos for future events’ use, you can tag them as favorites.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

