Wild Holiday


This holiday season seems to be more exciting then in the past.  The house seems to be more decorated and we are playing holiday music more often then we have in the past.  It took me a few days to realize why it was meaning so much more this year,  the Kid.

Simply put, I’m excited about seeing the Kid open gifts and get toys.  In fact I’ll be honest, I am looking forward to playing with his toys with him.  While we are looking for gifts for him, we have been looking at things that won’t annoy us but at the same time we will enjoy as well.

This year is a challenge however, the Kid wants to play with so many ornaments on the tree and we are not able to put presents under the tree until we are ready for us to have our Christmas together.  We have selectively hung ornaments so that the ones he does wreck havoc on the tree it won’t hurt if they break.

© The Rookie Dad

Without wanting to write this to leave out non-parents, I want to say this, Christmas has a totally different meaning when you have a kid.  You can see the excitement in their eyes, knowing they are going to be getting cool new gifts (even though for a one year old they still don’t quite understand what is going on), and just like a husband says a happy wife means a happy life, a happy child makes your holidays wild.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on December 4, 2011, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. it’s so true! Last year was the year my son “got it” and it was so exciting to see him rip through present after present with luster and excitement. HOWEVER- he also doesn’t understand that he only gets some, not all!

  2. I can’t imagine what Christmas will be like when my kids are out of the house. Glad you are enjoying this season…you should. I find myself remembering Christmases past when my kids were younger. Treasure everything and ENJOY! 🙂

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

